The Soulmate Equation

by Lauren, Christina

Format: Kindle Book 2021
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 43 copies
219 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (43)
Summary
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "Writing duo and reigning romance queens Christina Lauren are back with The Soulmate Equation, their most ambitious book to date." —PopSugar "A sexy, science-filled, and surprising romance full of warmth and wit." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Chosen as a best pick by Bustle, Marie Claire, Entertainment Weekly, E! Online, PopSugar, BuzzFeed, Goodreads, Country Living, The Pioneer Woman, Woman's World, Bookish, Bookreporter, Frolic, and more! The New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners returns with a witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science—or is it fate? Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One.Single mom Jessica Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents—who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno—Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father was never around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn't "father material" before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard...and lonely. But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that's predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soulmate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands. At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98 percent compatibility with another subject in the database: one of GeneticAlly's founders, Dr. River Peña. This is one number she can't wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Peña. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we'll pay you. Jess—who is barely making ends meet—is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the "Diamond Match" that could launch GeneticAlly's valuation sky-high, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist—and the science behind a soulmate—than she thought. "Laugh-out-loud, sweet, charming, and humorous" (Library Journal, starred review), The Soulmate Equation proves that the delicate balance between fate and choice can never be calculated.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Jess Davis, a freelance statistician and single mother, is ready to swear off dating after her most recent lackluster outing. And nothing about River Peña, a grumpy if hot regular at her favorite coffee shop, tempts her to change her mind, especially after he insults her and makes an already terrible day worse. Yet somehow learning that he is a scientist who has designed a gene-based matchmaking product piques Jess' interest. On a whim, she provides a sample to the dating service and then is more than skeptical to learn that it identifies River as a nearly perfect match just when his company's IPO is mere months away. Jess' analytical and practical sides war with her desire to protect herself and her daughter, while River's dedication to his company means that his own romantic life has not been a priority, yet they decide to trust the science (and their attraction) and give a relationship a chance. It is a treat to watch Jess and River figure out how to balance what the numbers predicted with their growing feelings. Their journey is made even more enjoyable by the presence of their scene-stealing relatives and friends. This latest romance by the duo Christina Lauren, following The Honey-Don't List (2020), is another winner."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lauren (The Unhoneymooners) delivers a charming romance sparked by a DNA match. Freelance statistician and single mother Jess Davis, 29, gets roped into touring the San Diego offices of DNA-based compatibility dating service GeneticAlly with her romance author friend. Despite her faith in numbers, she is deeply suspicious that a DNA match would lead to love and is turned off by the aloof founder, 35-year-old geneticist River Peña. But after a stressful day of work meetings and loneliness, Jess sends in a sample on a lark and surprisingly receives GeneticAlly's highest ever score: a 98% compatibility with River himself. With an IPO pending for GeneticAlly, the company offers Jess $30,000 to date River in exchange for the publicity. Their attraction is undeniable, and they bond by geeking out on stats, but the media storm and need to explain things to her seven-year-old daughter nearly overwhelm Jess. River remains steadfast throughout, even after uncovering some shady dealings at GeneticAlly. Lauren creates tension and feel-good moments without making the plot too predictable. This is a sweet treat. Agent: Holly Root, Root Literary. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Literature
Romance
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Publisher Gallery Books2021
Language English
ISBN 9781982123970