Then everything happens at once

by Girard, M-E,

Format: Print Book 2023
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 2 copies
1 person on waitlist
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Penn Hills Library Teen Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
 
On Order (4)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Display IN PROCESSING
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Display
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Display IN PROCESSING
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Display
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Display IN PROCESSING
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Display
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile ON ORDER
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary

From the Lambda Award-winning author of Girl Mans Up comes an empowering, sex-positive coming-of-age story about a teen exploring first love and desire, as her rocky relationship with her own body and a pandemic threaten to sabotage everything. Perfect for fans of Fat Chance, Charlie Vega and Cool for the Summer.

Baylee has never been kissed but she wants to do way more than that. She's had a huge crush on her gorgeous best friend and neighbor Freddie for years, but since she doesn't look like his usual type, the judgmental voice in her head tells her he'll never see her as more than a friend. It feels like she'll spend the rest of high school fantasizing on the sidelines while everyone else dates and hooks up.

Then Baylee meets Alex online and she starts to fall for this sweet, funny barista who likes her just as she is. It's new, electric, and all-consuming to be around Alex. But when Freddie makes a move on Baylee and a virus shuts the world down, Baylee finds herself torn.

Everything is happening at once, and she is left navigating the messy waters of love and desire. It helps that she's observed her friends' relationship drama, so she knows exactly what mistakes not to make . . . right?

This sophomore novel from M-E Girard centers a fat, confident girl going after what she wants and learning to love herself along the way.

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "White-cued Toronto native Baylee, 16, has had a crush for years on her neighbor, Freddie, described as having brown skin. As much as she craves romance and intimacy, Baylee doesn't believe anyone as conventionally attractive as Freddie could be into "a fat girl like me." These same insecurities cause her to doubt her white-coded online friend Alex's flirtations. When it suddenly seems like Freddie is returning her feelings, the Covid-19 pandemic hits, forcing Baylee into quarantine. During lockdown, she begins a sexually intimate relationship with Freddie and wrestles with feelings of guilt as she continues to pursue a romantic relationship with Alex. Myriad secondary interpersonal conflicts complicate matters further, including Baylee's responsibility protecting her 12-year-old sister Rebecca, who has cerebral palsy, from the virus, and her fraying relationships with her mother and Sri Lankan Canadian best friend Lara. Baylee is a headstrong and decisive protagonist whose seemingly boundless confidence realistically juxtaposes her deep-rooted insecurities. Girard (Girl Mans Up) portrays Baylee's mistakes and triumphs with nuance while tackling negative self-talk and anti-fat rhetoric amid unprecedented crisis in this honest and believable portrait of a teen navigating her sexual awakening. Ages 14--up. Agent: Linda Epstein, Emerald City Literary. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
LGBTQ+ people -- Fiction.
COVID-19 Pandemic, 2020- -- Fiction.
Novels.
Romance fiction.
Publisher New York :HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,2023
Edition First edition.
Audience Ages 14 up.
Grades 10-12.
Language English
Description pages cm
ISBN 9780063206687
0063206684
Other Classic View