Seven percent of Ro Devereux.

by O'Clover, Ellen,

Format: Print Book 2023
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book YA FIC O'CLOV
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  YA FIC O'CLOV
 
 
Penn Hills Library Teen Fiction TEEN O'CLOVER
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN O'CLOVER
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book YA OCL
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Call Number  YA OCL
 
 
Summary

Fans of Emma Lord, Rachel Lynn Solomon, and Alex Light will love this clever, charming, and poignant debut novel with a masterful slow-burn romance at its core about a girl who must decide whether to pursue her dreams or preserve her relationships, including a budding romance with her ex-best friend, when an app she created goes viral.

Ro Devereux can predict your future. Or, at least, the app she built for her senior project can.

Working with her neighbor, a retired behavioral scientist, Ro created an app called MASH, designed around the classic game Mansion Apartment Shack House, that can predict a person's future with 93% accuracy. The app will even match users with their soulmates. Though it was only supposed to be a class project, MASH quickly takes off and gains the attention of tech investors.

Ro's dream is to work in Silicon Valley, and she'll do anything to prove to her new backing company--and the world--that the app works. So it's a huge shock when the app says her soulmate is Miller, her childhood best friend with whom she had a friendship-destroying fight three years ago.

Now thrust into a fake dating scenario, Ro and Miller must address the years of pain between them if either of them will have any chance of achieving their dreams. And as the app takes on a life of its own, Ro sees that it's affecting people in ways she never expected--and if she can't regain control, it might take her and everything she believes in down with it.

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Eighteen-year-old Rose Devereux thinks her dreams are coming true when MASH, the mobile app she developed in collaboration with her elderly behavioral scientist neighbor, Vera, goes viral, capturing the interest of tech corporation XLR8. Though her father forbids her from partnering with XLR8, citing that continued development of the app will detract from her academics, Ro agrees to work with them anyway, hoping to prove she doesn't need college to launch her cyber career. To further promote MASH, which can predict a person's ideal romantic partner with 93% accuracy, XLR8 encourages Ro to take the app's survey herself and pursue her predicated true love. When she's matched with Alistair Miller, her former best friend whom she believes "thoroughly hated" her, she endeavors to persuade him into a highly publicized, pretend romance. O'Clover's prose, brimming with dry wit, pensively ponders existential questions regarding free will and the "gray area" of human behavior that no computer can measure. A nuanced cast navigating evolving interpersonal struggles--including Ro's relationships with her absent mother, Miller, and Vera--and natural-feeling dialogue elevate this tech-driven debut about love, fate, and change. Main characters present as white. Ages 13--up. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Publisher New York :Harper Teen, An Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,2023
Language English
Description 312 pages ; 22cm
ISBN 0063255030
9780063255036
Other Classic View