A thousand miles to Graceland

by Chase, Kristen M.,

Format: Print Book 2023
Availability: On Order 5 copies
6 people on waitlist
On Order (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary
The journey of a thousand miles begins with sequins and a beehive wig in this sharply funny and achingly tender debut novel about mothers, daughters, and the surprising power of Elvis.



Grace Johnson can't escape the feeling that her life is on autopilot--until her husband announces he's done with their marriage. Grace has a choice: wallow in humiliation . . . or reluctantly grant her outlandish mother's seventieth birthday wish with a road trip Graceland. Buckle up, Elvis. We're on our way .



Now the two are hightailing it from El Paso to Memphis, leaving a trail of sequins, false eyelashes, and difficult memories in their wake. Between spontaneous roadside stops to psychics, wig mishaps, and familiar passive-aggressive zingers, Grace is starting to better understand her Elvis-obsessed mama and their own fragile connection. She may even have another shot at love. Apparently the King really does work in mysterious ways. But after all these years, will it ever be possible for Grace and her mom to heal the hurts of the past?



Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Grace is bored with her life. Her unfulfilling job as an accountant is enough to pay the bills, and her relentlessly sunny husband was annoying even before a couples-therapy announcement that he'd fallen in love with another woman. Though she tries to keep interactions with her embarrassingly Elvis-obsessed mother, Loralynn, to a minimum, Loralynn's seventieth birthday is coming up, and what she really wants is a mother-daughter trip to Graceland. The trip seems pretty straightforward--a week visiting Elvis-related landmarks in a vintage, purple convertible--but nothing with Loralynn is ever simple, and the trip becomes a winding road full of memories, reminiscences, and healing. Debut author Chase isn't afraid to delve into this complicated mother-daughter dynamic, touching on themes of trauma, survivorship, and family secrets as the two women share long-suppressed memories of Grace's childhood and the abuse they both faced at the hands of Grace's alcoholic father. Readers will delight in Chase's sharp sense of humor and be moved by the reconciliation between Grace and Loralynn. Fans of Billie Letts and Camille Pagán should tag along on this one-of-a-kind road trip."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Domestic fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Novels.
Publisher New York :Forever,2023
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description pages cm
ISBN 9781538710463
1538710463
Other Classic View