There is planned maintenance scheduled on Sunday, May 22nd, from 6:30-9:30 pm. During this window the catalog may become unavailable for a period of up to 30 minutes. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Secret life of Albert Entwistle : an uplifting and unforgettable story of love and second chances.

by Cain, Matt (Writer),

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: On Order 5 copies
7 people on waitlist
On Order (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Allegheny Regional LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Downtown First Floor - LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  First Floor - LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - East Liberty LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary
In a humorous, charmingly wise novel perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and TJ Klune, the forced retirement of a shy, closeted postman in northern England creates the opportunity for him to track down his lost love, embrace his true self, connect with his community, and finally experience his life's great adventure...

"This rollicking romance entrapped me! True in its detail and its scope, it is amusing yet heart-breaking." --Ian McKellen


Indie Next List Selection | Library Reads Selection

Every day, Albert Entwistle makes his way through the streets of his small English town, delivering letters and parcels and returning greetings with a quick wave and a "how do?" Everyone on his route knows Albert, or thinks they do--a man of quiet routines, content to live alone with his cat, Gracie.

Three months before his sixty-fifth birthday, Albert receives a letter from the Royal Mail thanking him for decades of service and stating that he is being forced into retirement. At once, Albert's simple life unravels. Without the work that fills his days, what will he do? He has no friends, family, or hobbies--just a past he never speaks of, and a lost love that fills him with regret. And so, rather than continue his lonely existence, Albert forms a brave plan to start truly living, to be honest about who he is . . . and to find George, the man with whom he spent one perfect spring and summer long ago.

One painful yet exhilarating step at a time, Albert begins searching for George and revealing his story to those around him. As he does, something extraordinary happens. Albert finds unlikely allies, new friends, and the courage to help others--even as he seeks the happiness he's always denied himself.

Beautifully written, funny, and wise, The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle is a book to fall in love with and to be inspired by, one that proves it is never too late to live, to hope, and to love.

A Note from Matt Cain, the author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle :

"One of the things that inspired me to write this novel was all the joy I felt at seeing gay men like myself being embraced by British society. I think you'd be hard-pushed to find any other minority community in the UK that was as hated, feared and vilified as gay men were fifty years ago and is now as widely celebrated and loved. Acceptance of gay men has become a touchstone of British values within less than a decade, something that even the most optimistic commentators couldn't have predicted. I wanted to write a book that would celebrate this. And I sincerely hope The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle makes its readers feel good about themselves and the part they've played in bringing about this extraordinary social shift." -- Matt Cain
Additional Information
Subjects ordreq 05/12/22 xa
Publisher 2022
Description p. cm.
ISBN 9781496737755
149673775X
Other Classic View