The murder book

by Billingham, Mark,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Available at 13 Libraries 13 of 15 copies
Available (13)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Fiction FICTION Billingham
Location  CLP - Allegheny
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FICTION Billingham
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction FICTION Billingham
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
Call Number  FICTION Billingham
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Billingham
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
Collection  Fiction Collection
Call Number  FICTION Billingham
Carnegie Library of Homestead Fiction MYS Bill
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  MYS Bill
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F BIL
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  F BIL
Monroeville Public Library Mystery BILLINGHAM MARK
Location  Monroeville Public Library
Collection  Mystery
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction BILLINGHAM Mark
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  BILLINGHAM Mark
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction MYS BILLI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  MYS BILLI
Shaler North Hills Library Mystery NEW MYSTERY BILLINGHAM
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
Collection  Mystery
South Park Library Mystery F-M BILLINGH MARK THORNE v.19
Location  South Park Library
Collection  Mystery
Springdale Free Public Library Fiction AF BILL
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  AF BILL
Upper St. Clair Township Library Thriller Fiction THRILLER BILLINGHAM Mark
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
Collection  Thriller Fiction
Wilkinsburg Public Library Fiction FIC BILLI 2022
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FIC BILLI 2022
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Northland Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Sewickley Public Library New Book REPAIR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
Collection  New Book
Status  REPAIR
The latest thriller from internationally bestselling author Mark Billingham finds Tom Thorne settling into a newly content existence, but a spate of brutal murders sets him off on an investigation that may just shatter every happiness he has built

Tom Thorne finally has it all.

In Nicola Tanner and Phil Hendricks, Thorne has good friends by his side. His love life is newly reformed by a promising relationship and he is happy in the job he has devoted his life to.

As he sets off hunting the woman responsible for a series of grisly murders, Thorne has no way of knowing that he will be plunged into a nightmare from which he may never wake. A nightmare that has a name. Thorne's past threatens to catch up with him and a ruinous secret is about to be revealed. If he wants to save himself and his friends, he will have to do the unthinkable.

Tom Thorne finally has a lot to lose.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "For a police detective, a murder book is the file of a murder investigation, including photographs, sketches, forensic reports, witness interviews, etc. London DI Tom Thorne's murder book on Stuart Nicklin is thick. An absolute monster of a man who lives only to inflict pain on others, Nicklin is at it again. A spate of gruesome murders by a young woman seemingly begging to be caught turns out to have been engineered by Nicklin. Thorne caught him once, only to be tricked into letting him escape, and this time he intends to lock him up forever. A cacophony grows daily inside Thorne's head, an "angry static," as those around him are threatened, and Nicklin takes to sending the inspector messages carved into corpses. The narrative moves rapidly, and readers will find their own "static" growing stronger with each page. Despite the suspense and visceral reality, they will be sustained by the gallows humor and the warmth and caring that has developed between Thorne and those closest to him. This is the eighteenth book (after Cry Baby, 2020) in a series that began in 2001 and has established Thorne as one of British crime fiction's most iconic characters. Billingham is a masterful plotter, and here he supplies a few alarming teasers before delivering one of his most amazing endings ever."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "British author Billingham's masterly 18th novel featuring Det. Insp. Tom Thorne (after 2020's Cry Baby) finds Thorne content in his relationship with Melita Perera, who works with the police as a forensic psychiatrist, following a period of social isolation. Meanwhile, Thorne's nemesis, Stuart Nicklin, who once tortured and nearly killed Thorne's best friend, pathologist Phil Hendricks, escapes from prison and undergoes cosmetic surgery that makes him all but unrecognizable. When three grotesque murders, which imitate the proverbial "see no evil" theme, occur in London, Thorne and partner Det. Insp. Nicola Tanner investigate. They tie all three to sociopath Rebecca Driver, an acolyte of Nicklin's, who meets her victims on a dating website, and arrest her. While Driver is in a holding cell after conviction and waiting to be sentenced, she finally decides to expose Nicklin's evil manipulations. In the brilliant denouement, Thorne confronts Nicklin in Melita's home, and the fallout from their violent encounter is sure to reverberate through the lives of Tanner, Hendricks, and himself in future installments. The intricate plot matches superior characterizations. Thorne fans will eagerly await his next outing. Agent: David Forrer, InkWell Management. (July)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Billingham, Mark. DI Tom Thorne series.
Features Tom Thorne, a middle aged detective in London, England
#1 - Sleepyhead
#2 - Scaredy cat
#3 - Lazy bones
#4 - The Burning girl
#5 - Lifeless
#6 - Buried
#7 - Death message
#8 - Bloodline
#9 - From the dead
#10 - Good as dead
#11 - The Dying hours
#12 - The Bones beneath
#13 - Time of death
#14 - Love like blood
#15 - The Killing habit
#16 - Their little secret
#17 - Cry baby (prequel)
#18 - The Murder book
Subjects Thorne, Tom -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Serial murder investigation -- Fiction.
Women murderers -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Police -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher New York :Atlantic Monthly Press,2022
Edition First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 405 pages ; 24 cm.
ISBN 9780802159687
Other Classic View