There is planned maintenance scheduled on Sunday, May 22nd, from 6:30-9:30 pm. During this window the catalog may become unavailable for a period of up to 30 minutes. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Wish you were gone

by Scott, Kieran, 1974-

Format: Kindle Book 2022 2022
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 5 copies
22 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (5)
Summary
"For fans of the Netflix hit series Dead to Me and bestselling domestic suspense fiction by Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty, a novel set in suburban New Jersey about a dead husband with a serious alcohol problem, an angry, betrayed wife, and the family friends whose talent for keeping secrets might lead to everyone's undoing"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "James Walsh is dead. Apparently he was driving drunk, and he plowed into his own house. His wife, Emma, is shocked, but, if she's completely honest with herself, she's also a little relieved. An alcoholic, James terrorized his family, loving and considerate one moment, explosive and violent the next. Truth is, Emma was about to file for divorce. Now she doesn't have to. This is a delicious thriller. Alternating between the points of view of Emma and some of her close friends, occasionally dipping into the past to show us what was going on before James died, the story keeps us constantly on our toes. Was James' death an accident? Who might have killed him, and why? Was James having an affair? If so, with whom? And who might have known about it? Scott, who also writes under the pseudonym Kate Brian, is mostly known for YA fiction, but this book is definitely for grown-ups. It's a fine suspense story with some excellent surprises."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "YA author Scott (the Cheerleader trilogy) makes her adult debut with a stylish thriller fueled by family deceptions. Emma Walsh is finally ready to tell her angry, alcoholic husband, James, she wants a divorce after years of hiding his flaws from the world. When James neither arrives at the Manhattan restaurant chosen for the conversation nor answers her texts, she returns home to suburban New Jersey. Five hours later, his car crashes into their garage with James unconscious inside it. The police deem his subsequent death accidental, but Emma has questions. Most urgently, where is his ubiquitous cellphone, and who is the woman who answers when Emma calls his number? Emma's two closest friends offer to help her find out amid their own personal difficulties, including the wife of James's partner in a lucrative sports PR firm, a former NFL linebacker who has developed sports-related brain damage. As Emma uncovers James's hidden life, she finds that her two teenage children have secrets of their own. Scott's complex story lines come together in an explosive climax. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liane Moriarty will welcome this new arrival on the domestic thriller scene. Agent: Holly Root, Root Literary. (Nov.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Family violence Fiction
Alcoholism Fiction
Husbands Death Fiction
Secrecy Fiction
Domestic fiction
Suspense fiction
Literature
Thriller
Suspense
Fiction
Electronic books.
Domestic fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Gallery Books2022
2022
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781982154004
1982154004
Other Classic View