The lesbiana's guide to Catholic school

by Reyes, Sonora,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 5 copies
1 person on waitlist
Unavailable (5)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Millvale Community Library New Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  New Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Penn Hills Library Youth CHECKED OUT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Youth
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
 
On Order (3)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books IN PROCESSING
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books IN PROCESSING
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books IN PROCESSING
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. Perfect for fans of Erika L. Sánchez, Leah Johnson, and Gabby Rivera.

Sixteen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very rich Catholic school. But at least here no one knows she's gay, and Yami intends to keep it that way.

After being outed by her crush and ex-best friend before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami has new priorities: keep her brother out of trouble, make her mom proud, and, most importantly, don't fall in love. Granted, she's never been great at any of those things, but that's a problem for Future Yami.

The thing is, it's hard to fake being straight when Bo, the only openly queer girl at school, is so annoyingly perfect. And smart. And talented. And cute. So cute. Either way, Yami isn't going to make the same mistake again. If word got back to her mom, she could face a lot worse than rejection. So she'll have to start asking, WWSGD: What would a straight girl do?

Told in a captivating voice that is by turns hilarious, vulnerable, and searingly honest, The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School explores the joys and heartaches of living your full truth out loud.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Being a teenager can be an extremely confusing time, especially when having to hide one's true identity. Mexican American Yamilet ("Yami") is a junior at a Catholic high school who is constantly walking on eggshells to keep her life safe. Having just been outed by her childhood best friend (and unrequited love interest), Yami is terrified to let anyone, let alone her young, genius brother (Caesar) and strict mother, into her circle of trust. She soon finds out that there is a price to pay for keeping loved ones and true friends at bay. Debut author Reyes does not shy away from serious issues that teenagers face, approaching them with the utmost respect. Racism, homophobia, deportation, poverty, and suicide are just some of the topics covered within this story. Despite these darker elements, Yami learns to find positivity in her life through her family's and friends' encouragement to just be honest. Readers will applaud both Yami's and Caesar's growth and bravery."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Transferring to a new school should mean a fresh start for 16-year-old Mexican American lesbian Yamilet Flores, one that she desperately needs after being outed at her old school by her crush and ex-best-friend. Luckily, her mother didn't find out, and since no one at her new school knows she's queer, Yami plans to keep it that way. But Slayton Catholic presents new problems: her mother expects Yami to watch over her younger brother Cesar, who is navigating depression; the student body is overwhelmingly white; and it's difficult to keep her re-closeted mouth shut around the homophobia that's seemingly baked into the curriculum. Slayton's only bright spot is outspoken Chinese American lesbian Bo Taylor, the only openly queer person at school. But if Yami wants to maintain her relationship with her mother, getting to know another lesbian, let alone dating one, isn't an option. Reyes's hopeful debut excels in its honest depiction of family dynamics, highlighting Yami's sense of responsibility for Cesar and her loving but tense relationship with her mother. As the narrative vulnerably tackles difficult subjects such as intolerant religious institutions and living with mental illness, Yami's sardonic voice adds levity and heart. Ages 13--up. Agent: Alexandra Levick, Writers House. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Self-acceptance -- Fiction.
Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction.
Suicide -- Fiction.
Lesbians -- Fiction.
Bisexuality -- Fiction.
Mexican Americans -- Fiction.
Catholic schools -- Fiction.
High schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :Balzer + Bray,2022
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 385 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780063060234
006306023X
Other Classic View