The Bangalore Detectives Club

by Nagendra, Harini,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 8 copies
1 person on waitlist
Unavailable (8)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Mysteries CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Mysteries
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Mysteries CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
The first in a charming, joyful crime series set in 1920s Bangalore, featuring sari-wearing detective Kaveri and her husband Ramu. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.

When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry handsome young doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace and quiet--and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for mathematics, a head for logic, and a doctor for a husband . . .

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition, and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Set in colonial India in 1921, this debut mystery, the first in a projected series, makes full use of the oppressive British rule of the time, matched by the oppressive treatment of women, to highlight the ingenuity and bravery of a young woman determined to solve a murder. Kaveri is 19, recently married to a doctor, well-off but unhappy under the expectation that her life should be confined to childbearing and cooking. The murder of a beautiful woman at the Century Club (the historic venue that, since 1917, has been the province of prominent Indians), on a night that Kaveri and her husband attended a sumptuous dinner there, galvanizes her into investigative action. Kaveri, who loves mathematics and biology, uses her intelligence, charm, knowledge of the new science of fingerprints, and (often) luck in finding clues to pursue the case, aided by her husband's admiration and his contacts within the police. Nagendra's evocation of setting is riveting, and her use of colonial history is thoroughly fascinating, with devastating depictions of the airy condescension of the British. While McCall Smith's No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series is an obvious parallel, Nagendra's novel also suggests the Nancy Drew mysteries, in which the intrepid, 18-year-old Nancy is helped by her attorney father. A fine start to a promising series."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Nagendra (Cities and Canopies: Trees in Indian Cities) makes her fiction debut with an exceptional series launch. In 1921, 19-year-old Kaveri Murthy, who has a passion for advanced mathematics, lives just outside the sprawling city of Bangalore. While Kaveri and her physician husband, Ramu, are attending a reception at the prestigious Century Club, the body of a pimp is found murdered in the garden. When the deputy inspector of the local police force arrives to investigate, Kaveri confides that she saw the dead man in the garden with his hands around the throat of a beautiful woman. Kaveri's desire to see justice done takes her from the bastions of British wealth to humble mud-floored shacks. By placing her intelligent and clear-eyed protagonists in the multilayered and multicultural milieu of colonial India, Nagendra, a university professor in Bangalore, imbues this mystery with a rich, edifying, and authentic feel. She rounds out the volume with easy-to-follow recipes for dishes like spiced rice with lentils, a welcome change from the sugary fare that culinary cozy recipes typically offer. Readers will hope Kaveri and Ramu will be back soon. Agent: Priya Doraswamy, Lotus Literary. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Marriage -- Fiction.
Women detectives -- Fiction.
Bangalore (India) -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher New York :Pegasus Crime,2022
Edition First Pegasus Books cloth edition.
Language English
Description 287 pages : map ; 24 cm
ISBN 1639361596
9781639361595
Other Classic View