There is a planned maintenance window on June 26th from 9 am to 3 pm. During this time the catalog may become unavailable for a period of 30 minutes. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Golden girl

by Faruqi, Reem,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Available at 7 Libraries 7 of 10 copies
Available (7)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library New Juvenile JUV Faruqi
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Call Number  JUV Faruqi
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection j FICTION Faruqi
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Faruqi
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF FAR
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF FAR
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J FARUQI
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FARUQI
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF FARUQI Reem
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF FARUQI Reem
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC FARUQI
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC FARUQI
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material J FIC FARUQI
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Call Number  J FIC FARUQI
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Middle Grade Section CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade Section
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah's Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what's right isn't always easy. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Clean Getaway, this is a heartfelt, soul-searching story with laughter, hope, and lessons learned.

Seventh grader Aafiyah loves playing tennis, reading Weird but True facts, and hanging out with her best friend, Zaina. However, Aafiyah has a bad habit that troubles her--she's drawn to pretty things and can't help but occasionally "borrow" them.

But when her father is falsely accused of a crime he hasn't committed and gets taken in by authorities, Aafiyah knows she needs to do something to help. When she brainstorms a way to bring her father back, she turns to her Weird but True facts and devises the perfect plan.

But what if her plan means giving in to her bad habit, the one she's been trying to stop? Aafiyah wants to reunite her family but finds that maybe her plan isn't so perfect after all. . .

"Faruqi's beautifully observed and page-turning novel in verse overflows with compassion, honesty, and hope." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

"Faruqi proves herself once again a master of middle grade verse novels. Golden Girl is a phenomenal story loaded with heart and hope." --Adrianna Cuevas, author of the Pura Belpré honor book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez, Cuba in My Pocket, and The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto

"A story that sends an important message--that people who make bad choices are not bad people." --Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Aafiyah Quamar lives a charmed life with her family in Atlanta, spending days playing tennis, reading Weird but True! books, and hanging out with her best friend, Zaina. Despite her family's comfort and privilege, Aafiyah has a bad habit of "borrowing" things without asking. She knows it is wrong, but cannot help it. Upon returning from a trip to visit her Dadi and Dada Abu, her paternal grandparents, in Pakistan, her father is arrested and charged with a crime he did not commit. Aafiyah comes up with an idea to get money to help pay her father's legal fees, but it means that she must betray a friend and give in to her worst habits. Told in verse, Golden Girl is the tale of a young girl in crisis. In Aafiyah, Faruqi creates a relatable but flawed protagonist whose road to redemption makes for an engaging, warmhearted story. Readers who enjoyed Hena Khan's Amina's Voice (2017) or are looking for nuanced portrayals of South Asian Muslims will enjoy this selection."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "A teen of Pakistani descent faces her penchant for "borrowing" things and navigates puberty-related changes in Faruqi's (Amira's Picture Day) novel in verse. When 13-year-old Aafiyah Qamar's Abba is arrested in Dubai for a theft that he didn't commit, Aafiyah is determined to help the family--not least because she feels guilt about enjoying "the feeling/ of something new in my hands/ that's not mine." The incident occurs as the Muslim family--Aafiyah, her parents, and younger brother Ibrahim--are returning home to Atlanta from Karachi, accompanying Aafiyah's Dada Abu, who seeks cancer treatment in the U.S. Unable to offer any help, her grandmother stays behind, while in America, her mother goes through their savings to hire lawyers for Aafiyah's father. When Aafiyah, whose family has always been "well off," sets out to help pay for her father's expensive lawyer, she gets caught, and consequences follow. Aafiyah, who has mild hearing loss in one ear, enjoys facts, tennis, and photography, and is deeply aware of her best friend's physical changes--and her own lack of them-- in this story with a well-characterized, flawed heroine and a lot of heart. An author's note discusses the real-life seeds of this story. Ages 8--12. Agent: Rena Rossner, Deborah Harris Agency. (Feb.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects False imprisonment -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle school girls -- Juvenile fiction.
Pakistani Americans -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Juvenile fiction.
Muslims -- United States -- Juvenile fiction.
False imprisonment -- Fiction.
Pakistani Americans -- Fiction.
Family life -- Fiction.
Muslims -- Fiction.
Novels in verse.
Publisher New York, NY :2022
Edition First edition.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Description 309 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780063044753
0063044757
Other Classic View