My fine fellow

by Cohen, Jennieke,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 9 of 9 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Cohen
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Cohen
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC COH
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC COH
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction FICTION Cohen
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Cohen
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books FICTION Cohen
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Cohen
 
 
Millvale Community Library Teen Fiction YAF COH
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF COH
 
 
Millvale Community Library Teen Fiction YAF COH
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF COH
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F COHEN Jennieke
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F COHEN Jennieke
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen Fiction TEEN FIC COHEN
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC COHEN
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF COHEN
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF COHEN
 
 
Summary


Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this gender-bent take on My Fair Lady from Jennieke Cohen, author of Dangerous Alliance--perfect for fans of Bridgerton or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

It's 1830s England, and Culinarians--doyens who consult with society's elite to create gorgeous food and confections--are the crème de la crème of high society.

Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate--and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year.

Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong.

Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won't allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby--but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society.

When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef.

But Elijah's transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize--and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Filled with delectable dishes and an inclusive cast, Cohen's (Dangerous Alliance) gender-bent My Fair Lady retelling centers a cooking competition in 1830s London. At London's Royal Academy of Culinaria Artisticus--which trains cooks and food consultants to society's elite--aspiring Culinarian Lady Helena Higgins is at the top of her class. Though her "sharp tongue offended nearly everyone she met," she's determined to prove, in a world in which Princess Charlotte has succeeded George IV as England's monarch, that she is not only the finest Culinarian in Britain, but that women can sustain themselves professionally and that people from any background can "be improved by the right teachings." As final-year students, presumed-white Helena and her best friend Penelope Pickering, whose mother is Filipina and father is white and English, must each present a project that showcases their abilities; the most outstanding will become highly sought-after Culinarians. While Penelope seeks to emphasize international cuisine's flavors, Helena, after meeting gifted Elijah Little, a white Jewish street vendor whose family fled Bavaria to escape anti-Semitism, determines to transform Elijah into an amateur gentleman chef. Weaving the original source material with relevant social commentary, Cohen creates memorable characters struggling to find their place in a prejudicial world, while alternating viewpoints add depth to the backdrop of this historical culinary treat. Ages 13--up. Agent: Jennifer Unter, the Unter Agency. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women cooks -- Fiction.
Jewish men -- Fiction.
Aristocracy (Social class) -- Fiction.
Creative ability in cooking -- Fiction.
Marriage -- Fiction.
Mate selection -- Fiction.
Young women -- England -- Fiction.
England -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Historical fiction.
Romance fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :HarperTeen,2022
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes Includes an excerpt from the author's Dangerous alliance.
Description 324, 14 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780063047532
0063047535
Other Classic View