There is a planned maintenance window on June 26th from 9 am to 3 pm. During this time the catalog may become unavailable for a period of 30 minutes. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Girls can kiss now : essays

by Gutowitz, Jill,

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 6 copies
1 person on waitlist
Unavailable (6)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown First Floor - New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  First Floor - New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Non-Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Non-Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - LGBTQ CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - LGBTQ
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Millvale Community Library New Adult Non-Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  New Adult Non-Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2022 by Vogue , BuzzFeed , Bustle , Marie Claire , Harper's Bazaar , Electric Lit , Thrillist , Glamour , CNN, and Shondaland

"Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable...every page twinkles with brilliance." --Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror , a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.

Jill Gutowitz's life--for better and worse--has always been on a collision course with pop culture. There's the time the FBI showed up at her door because of something she tweeted about Game of Thrones . The pop songs that have been the soundtrack to the worst moments of her life. And of course, the pivotal day when Orange Is the New Black hit the airwaves and broke down the door to Jill's own sexuality. In these honest examinations of identity, desire, and self-worth, Jill explores perhaps the most monumental cultural shift of our lifetimes: the mainstreaming of lesbian culture. Dusting off her own personal traumas and artifacts of her not-so-distant youth she examines how pop culture acts as a fun house mirror reflecting and refracting our values--always teaching, distracting, disappointing, and revealing us.

Girls Can Kiss Now is a fresh and intoxicating blend of personal stories, sharp observations, and laugh-out-loud humor. This timely collection of essays helps us make sense of our collective pop-culture past even as it points the way toward a joyous, uproarious, near--and very queer--future.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The personal essays in Gutowitz's first book examine pop culture through a lens of evolving lesbian identity and range in tone from self-deprecating snark to cotton-candy light to truly profound. The book follows two arcs, one being Gutowitz's personal evolution from fame seeker to lover of regular, daily life with her girlfriend, and the second being the characterization and visibility of lesbians in pop culture. The collection is both interesting and uneven. Claiming a difference in intention, one ultimately unconvincing essay attempts to separate the ethics of her own speculation on celebrity sexuality for profit from the cruel-toned blog of Perez Hilton. Yet, another, stunning piece is a letter to the author's younger self, reunderstanding a boyfriend's sexual behavior in a #MeToo context and allowing her to release the self-blame rooted in her undisclosed queerness. Readers who recall where they were during iconic moments like when Orange is the New Black debuted or when paparazzi pictures of Lindsay Lohan and Samantha Ronson arguing were published will relish reliving their importance with Gutowitz."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Journalist Gutowitz debuts with an incisive and funny collection of essays on coming of age as a queer woman in the early 2000s. In "One Day, You'll All Be Gay," she writes of Lindsay Lohan and Samantha Ronson's 2008 relationship--they were "ravenously exploited"--and how she was affected by the narrative of a queer female sexuality centered on drugs and mental illness: "I remember thinking: I'm a good student. I come from a great family... I'm not some weak-minded chump, able to be indoctrinated by lesbianism." In "Kill the Creator of Entourage in Your Head," she reflects on coming to terms with her sexuality while watching Orange Is the New Black; "The Ten Most Important Sapphic Paparazzi Photos in Modern History" lists "Cara Delevingne and Michelle Rodriguez vaping" and "Janelle MonĂ¡e and Lupita Nyong'o grinding at Met Gala afterparty" as key cultural moments; and the slightly more somber "The Beast" considers the superficiality of celebrities through their asinine tweets sent during the pandemic--Kim Kardashian, for example, showed off one of her 14 Friesian horses. Gutowitz blends candid reflections on the experience of being closeted with witty analysis on how the media affects one's perception of the world. Fans of the personal essay will be eager to see what Gutowitz does next. Agent: Katelyn Dougherty, Paradigm Talent Agency. (Mar.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Gutowitz, Jill.
Popular culture -- Humor.
Lesbians -- United States -- Biography.
Essays.
Publisher New York :2022
Edition First Atria paperback edition.
Other Titles Essays.
Language English
Description 227 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781982158507
1982158506
Other Classic View