Firekeeper's daughter

by Boulley, Angeline,

Format: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 2021 2021
  OverDrive Listen
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 17 copies
26 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (17)
Summary
In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi's hockey team.Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.Now, as the deceptions--and deaths--keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company
Additional Information
Subjects Lesbian teenagers Fiction
Drugs Fiction
Undercover operations Fiction
Families Michigan Fiction
Racially mixed people Fiction
Ojibwa Indians Fiction
Indians of North America Michigan Fiction
Crime Fiction
Thriller
Young Adult Literature
Suspense
Young Adult Fiction
Michigan Fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Macmillan Audio,2021
Macmillan Audio2021
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors LaBlanc, Isabella Star, narrator.
OverDrive, Inc.
Participants/Performers Read by Isabella Star LaBlanc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: OverDrive Listen
Format: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Requires OverDrive app 3.0 (Windows) / 1.0 (Mac) / 1.0 (Windows Mobile)
Description 1 audio file : digital
ISBN 9781250779519
1250779510
Other Classic View