The royal correspondent

by Joel, Alexandra, 1953-

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 7 copies
8 people on waitlist
Unavailable (7)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown First Floor - Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book IN TRANSIT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library New Book Collection ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  New Book Collection
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
 
On Order (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library IN PROCESSING
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection 
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

The author of The Paris Model captures the glamour, style, excitement, and romance of a bygone era in this sumptuous novel--set in the Sydney and London of the 1960s--about an up-and-coming young Australian reporter with a deadly secret.

Breaking into the newspaper business in 1960s Sydney--a competitive world dominated by hard-edged men--isn't easy for a woman. But Blaise Hill is far from ordinary. The only female in The Clarion's newsroom, her long-held dream of being a reporter has come true. Blaise isn't chasing stories just to make a name for herself; she's helping support her family and her beloved sister Ivy, whose life has been transformed by polio.

But the ambitious young journalist's confidence is shaken when she secretly witnesses the murder of a top crime boss--a death that rocks the Sydney underworld. One of the few people who knows what really happened--and what Blaise knows--is the handsome, enigmatic Adam Rule, who helps cover up the murder. When she gets a plum assignment--moving to England to cover the British royal family--Blaise hopes to put it all behind her.

Carving her own path among the scandal and intrigue of the Swinging Sixties in London, life is just about perfect--until the night she attends Queen Elizabeth's gala in honor of the upcoming nuptials of Princess Margaret and Antony Armstrong-Jones. Among the exclusive crowd is the last man she ever wanted to see--Adam Rule.

Is Blaise's dark secret coming back to hurt her--or is this the beginning of something far more dangerous?

In this mesmerizing novel, Alexandra Joel brings to life the thrilling, colorful world of 1960s Sydney and London, when fashion, music, society, and even the royal family rode the waves of change--and a spirited, ambitious heroine dared to make her way in a man's world.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Blaise Hill yearns to be a successful journalist who covers more than just women's fashion--she wants to be the one to cover the front-page stories. But for a woman in the 1960s, this isn't easy to achieve, not in Sydney, Australia, nor in London, where she eventually gets assigned to cover the royal family. Besides having to deal with the male-dominated newsroom, she has family concerns, like the effects of polio on her beloved sister. This new assignment is a boon for her career and will help the family financially, but the dark cloud of having been a witness to the murder of a crime boss in Sydney hangs over her. The one person who knows and helps to cover it all up is the handsome, mysterious Adam Rule. While in London, she meets him again and starts a brief romance, which she ends after learning of his past. Engaging characters and a well-paced story line brimming with social history, romance, and mystery will captivate readers across genres. A good read-alike for The Inheritance (2021), by JoAnn Ross, or An Observant Wife (2021), by Naomi Ragen."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Joel (The Paris Model) serves up an engrossing story about a woman's determination to succeed as a journalist. In late 1950s Sydney, Australia, Blaise Hill is almost 18 when she gets a job at the Clarion newspaper as a copy girl. After witnessing her friend Joe Blackett stab and accidentally kill a man in self-defense, she meets a mysterious wealthy Englishman named Adam Rule who claims to be a friend of Joe's family and takes the knife off her hands. As Blaise climbs the ladder at the Clarion, she meets Adam again, who helps her out by offering her news tips. Blaise's career continues its upward trajectory, and she is assigned to cover the wedding of Princess Margaret in London, where, once again, she runs into Adam. Despite being warned away from him by Charlie Ashton, a rising-star politician, she can't deny her attraction to Adam, which is complicated by Charlie's romantic pursuit. Joel does an expert job at portraying Blaise's fortitude in her quest to achieve journalistic success in an era when women were often forced to choose between marriage and career. This will keep readers turning the pages. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women journalists -- Fiction.
Nineteen sixties -- Fiction.
Sydney (N.S.W.) -- Fiction.
London (England) -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York, NY :2021
Edition First US edition.
Language English
Description 389 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780063143043
0063143046
9780063112803
0063112809
Other Classic View