Dark things I adore

by Lattari, Katie,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 17 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Carrick New Books FICTION Lattari
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Lattari
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction FICTION Lattari
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Lattari
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead New Fiction MYS Latt
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Call Number  MYS Latt
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction THRILLER LATTARI Katie
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Call Number  THRILLER LATTARI Katie
 
 
 
Unavailable (13)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Downtown First Floor - New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  First Floor - New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport - White Oak IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport - White Oak
 
Collection 
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Penn Hills Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book IN TRANSIT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
South Park Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library New Book Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  New Book Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Scott Township Library New Material IN PROCESSING
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

"[C]areful and sinewy plotting, which reveals in chilling detail who gets to make art, and who gets subsumed in the process."--New York Times Book Review

A debut thriller for fans of Lucy Foley and Liz Moore, Dark Things I Adoreis a stunning Gone Girl-esque tale of atonement that proves that in the grasp of manipulative men, women may momentarily fall.But in the hands of fierce women, men will be brought to their knees.

Three campfire secrets. Two witnesses. One dead in the trees. And the woman, thirty years later, bent on making the guilty finally pay.

1988. A group of outcasts gather at a small, prestigious arts camp nestled in the Maine woods. They're the painters: bright, hopeful, teeming with potential. But secrets and dark ambitions rise like smoke from a campfire, and the truths they tell will come back to haunt them in ways more deadly than they dreamed.

2018. Esteemed art professor Max Durant arrives at his protégé's remote home to view her graduate thesis collection. He knows Audra is beautiful and brilliant. He knows being invited into her private world is a rare gift. But he doesn't know that Audra has engineered every aspect of their weekend together. Every detail, every conversation. Audra has woven the perfect web.

OnlyAudra knows what happened that summer in 1988. Max's secret, and the dark things that followed. And even though it won't be easy, Audra knows someone must pay.

A searing psychological thriller of trauma, dark academia, complicity, and revenge, Dark Things I Adoreunravels the realities behind campfire legends--the horrors that happen in the dark, the girls who become cautionary tales, and the guilty who go unpunished. Until now.

"A smart, nuanced exploration of victims and villains, inspiration and theft, and the intersection of these things, in every artist. Pay attention to Katie Lattari. She's the real deal."--Sarah Langan, author of Good Neighbors

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lattari (American Vaudeville) makes her thriller debut with a complex, deeply disturbing tale of vengeance. In 1988, Juniper returns to King City, Maine, to resume teaching at the Lupine Valley Arts Collective, a sleepaway camp for aspiring artists. There, Juniper befriends Coral, the newly hired cleaner who also dreams of becoming an artist. It becomes clear that Coral is mentally ill, and as Juniper tries to intervene to help Coral, tension builds among Juniper's circle of friends. One night, two people witness a death in the woods, and secrets remain buried until 2018, when Audra Colfax, a Boston Institute for the Visual Arts graduate student, plots her revenge. The alluring Audra invites her thesis mentor, the pompous, womanizing artist Max Durant, to travel with her to her home in Maine. Readers will soon pinpoint Max's role in the death 30 years earlier, though he's not as quick to ascertain Audra's true intentions for inviting him to Maine. After a slow start, the plot gains momentum and builds to a chilling conclusion. Those who are comfortable with a cast of morally ambiguous characters will best appreciate this one. Agent: Sarah Bedingfield, Levine Greenberg Rostan. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Painters -- Fiction.
Art teachers -- Fiction.
Revenge -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher Naperville, Illinois :2021
Language English
Description 402 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781728229843
1728229847
Other Classic View