The ghoul next door

by Bunn, Cullen,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 16 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Juvenile Graphic Novel JUV GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  JUV GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Graphic Novels j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Children's Graphic Novels j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Children's Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Graphic Novels j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  j GRAPHIC NOVEL Bunn
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Children's Graphic Novels J GN Bun
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  J GN Bun
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J GN BUNN
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J GN BUNN
 
 
 
Unavailable (10)
Location Collection Status
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Children's Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Children's Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Scott Township Library Juvenile Graphic Novel IN TRANSIT
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Graphic Novel
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Graphic Novels CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Graphic Novels
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Children's Graphic Novels IN TRANSIT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary


For fans of Ghosts and Hilo, New York Times bestselling author Cullen Bunn and acclaimed artist Cat Farris deliver a fun, spooky, full-color middle grade graphic novel about a supernatural adventure and friendships that go beyond the grave.

"A thoroughly charming story of friendship, sweet and funny and haunting all in equal measure." --Tony Cliff, creator of the Delilah Dirk series

"Incredible artwork and a sweet, cool, and just creepy enough story that really hooked me." --Jeff Lemire, creator of Sweet Tooth, Black Hammer, and the Essex County trilogy

"A fun story with art that'll knock readers dead."--Kirkus

"Imaginative with the right number of chills."--Booklist

Eleven-year-old Grey lives in the legend-haunted New England town of Ander's Landing, and he can't help but feel like a pair of eyes is watching his every move.

He discovers odd, gruesome bits and pieces from the graveyard that are left for him as gifts like art carved from bones or jewelry made from (hopefully not human) remains. Soon Grey is caught up in something bigger than he could ever have imagined.

He finds himself drawn into a strange mystery involving a race of reclusive subterranean creatures--ghouls, the eaters of the dead! Turns out, his secret admirer is a ghoul named Lavinia. An unlikely friendship forms between them. The only problem is, their friendship breaks traditions--and the punishment is a fate worse than death.

Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection * Kids' Indie Next List

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: ""A monster stole my project" isn't a very convincing excuse for showing up to class empty-handed, but Grey knows something grabbed his carefully built model of Armitage Cemetery after he tripped with it in that very graveyard. That same night, he wakes up to find a hunched, hissing figure resembling Gollum in his bedroom for a heart-stopping instant. Farris' mixed-media illustrations emphasize ink lines and blotchy watercolors, and her shadow-work drums up a spooky atmosphere when the story calls for one--like when being stalked by a monster. Grey eventually decides to make contact and discovers the creature is a nice ghoul named Lavinia. Cheerfully grotesque, Lavinia's upbeat personality stands in entertaining contrast to her decaying, skeletal appearance. A friendship quickly forms between her and Grey, and she teaches him the unbelievable history of his town and what it has to do with ghouls and the Ander's Landing 1696 witch hunt. Imaginative with the right number of chills, this blend of history and the supernatural will appeal to those interested in the monstrous."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Preteens -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Boys -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Ghouls and ogres -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Boys -- Fiction.
Ghouls and ogres -- Fiction.
Supernatural -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Horror stories.
Cartoons and comics.
New England -- Comic books, strips, etc.
New England -- Fiction.
Paranormal comics.
Horror comics.
Comics (Graphic works)
Graphic novels.
Publisher New York, NY :2021
Edition First edition.
Contributors Farris, Cat, artist.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Description 191 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780062896100
0062896105
9780062896094
0062896091
Other Classic View