Excuse me while I ugly cry

by Goffney, Joya,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 26 Libraries 26 of 30 copies
Available (26)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA GOFFNEY Joya
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA GOFFNEY Joya
 
 
Brentwood Library New Young Adult YOUNG ADULT Goffney
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Young Adult
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Goffney
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC GOF
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC GOF
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Beechview Teen New Book TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Downtown Second Floor - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  Second Floor - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Hill District Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - South Side Teen New Book TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - West End Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Goffney
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Goffney
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Teen Fiction YA FIC Goff
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC Goff
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Young Adult Fiction YA GOFFNEY
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GOFFNEY
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books Y GOFFNEY JOYA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Call Number  Y GOFFNEY JOYA
 
 
North Versailles Public Library Young Adult YA FIC GOFF
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GOFF
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC GOFFNEY
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC GOFFNEY
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book YA GOF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Call Number  YA GOF
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW GOFFNEY
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW GOFFNEY
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Carrick Teen New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is a story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It's a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before and Kristina Forest's I Wanna Be Where You Are will love the juicy secrets and leap-off-the-page sexual tension.

"A hilarious and swoonworthy story." --Kristina Forest, author of Now That I've Found You

"A fun, emotionally rich romance with a sweet, imperfect character who will win your heart." --Liara Tamani, author of All the Things We Never Knew

Quinn keeps lists of everything--from the days she's ugly cried, to "Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud" and all the boys she'd like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing . . .

Then an anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn't know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett--the last known person to have her journal--in a race against time to track down the blackmailer.

Together, they journey through everything Quinn's been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Epic Reads Recommended Pick at Target

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "High-school senior Quinn has secrets that she has never told another person. Instead, she jots them all down in a red spiral notebook, never to see the light of day. This spiral notebook is full of lists related to secrets, crushes, and dreams from her childhood until now. It isn't until an accidental notebook switch that Quinn finds herself at the mercy of a blackmailer who threatens to reveal all of her secrets to the high school. Quinn is a Black teen girl in a predominately white Texas neighborhood and school, who experiences microaggressions daily and is unsure how to navigate them. Not only that, but her parents' relationship seems to be falling apart, and her grandmother's dementia is slowly stealing away her memories. In this transformative year, Quinn doesn't expect to make waves, but a blackmailer revealing her deepest secrets forces her into the spotlight. With the help of some of her classmates, Quinn unpacks what it means to be Black and creates lasting relationships that help her flourish. Goffney's important debut novel navigates the messy feelings Black teens may experience in a supposedly post-racial world where their challenges often do not mirror the challenges their parents faced. This authentic look at the teen years will undoubtedly delight readers."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Privacy -- Fiction.
Diaries -- Authorship -- Fiction.
Doxing -- Fiction.
Extortion -- Fiction.
Cyberbullying -- Fiction.
High school students -- Fiction.
Anxiety -- Fiction.
Phobias -- Fiction.
African American teenagers -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Romance fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Social problem fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2021
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 352 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780063024793
0063024799
Other Classic View