What beauty there is

by Anderson, Cory,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 5 copies
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF ANDERSON
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF ANDERSON
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book IN TRANSIT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary

What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive--perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.

To understand the truth, you have to start at the beginning.

Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Dahl is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing--except each other. And now Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack's trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In the mountains of Idaho, quiet Jack Dahl, 17, and his little brother, Matty, live alone. With their mother dead and their situation precarious, Jack makes a tough decision: to avoid losing Matty to Child Services, he sets out to find the stolen drug money that landed his father in prison. The cash is well hidden, though, and he's not the only one looking for it: when a vicious, unnamed drug dealer and Jack's father's merciless former associate, Bardem, catch wind of Jack's hunt, they set their sights on him. Bardem's daughter, Ava, finds herself drawn to the brothers--but to save them, she must break away from her controlling and abusive father. Alternating between the third person and Ava's first-person reflections in a fully realized rural setting, Anderson's starkly atmospheric thriller illuminates ways in which cycles of poverty and incarceration can disenfranchise children. Supporting characters, however, especially the two primary villains, suffer from indiscrete renderings, and a character "disfigured" after an attempted scalping is unfortunately named "Red." Ages 14--up. Agent: Lindsay Davis Auld, Writers House. (Apr.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Brothers -- Fiction.
Poor -- Fiction.
Survival -- Fiction.
Idaho -- Fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York :2021
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 362 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781250268099
1250268095
Other Classic View