This will be funny someday

by Henry, Katie,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 11 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC HEN
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC HEN
 
 
CLP - Brookline New Books TEEN FICTION Henry
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Henry
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Henry
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Henry
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Henry
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Henry
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Henry
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Henry
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen New Book TEEN FICTION Henry
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Henry
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen New Books Y HENRY KATIE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  Y HENRY KATIE
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book YA HEN
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Call Number  YA HEN
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
North Versailles Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel comes to high school in acclaimed author Katie Henry's coming-of-age YA contemporary about a girl who accidentally falls into the world of stand-up comedy. Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli!

Sixteen-year-old Izzy is used to keeping her thoughts to herself--in school, where her boyfriend does the talking for her, and at home, where it's impossible to compete with her older siblings and high-powered parents.

When she mistakenly walks into a stand-up comedy club and performs, the experience is surprisingly cathartic. After the show, she meets Mo, an aspiring comic who's everything Izzy's not: bold, confident, comfortable in her skin. Mo invites Izzy to join her group of friends and introduces her to the Chicago open mic scene.

The only problem? Her new friends are college students--and Izzy tells them she's one, too. Now Izzy, the dutiful daughter and model student, is sneaking out to perform stand-up with her comedy friends. Her controlling boyfriend is getting suspicious, and her former best friend knows there's something going on.

But Izzy loves comedy and this newfound freedom. As her two parallel lives collide--in the most hilarious of ways--Izzy must choose to either hide what she really wants and who she really is, or finally, truly stand up for herself.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Sixteen-year-old Isabel, who has trouble hearing others in noisy environments, feels like she also has trouble being heard all the time. An outcast in her own family and always a burden in her boyfriend's eyes, it hardly even feels like there's a place for her--until she accidentally wanders into a Chicago bar during a stand-up comedy open mic and, to her shock, finds herself on stage. Like any good comedy, this novel deals in truth. Like any great comedy, it also nails the difficult job of infusing nuance. Marked by Isabel's strong narrative voice, it walks a perfect balance between humor and serious observations about the world, the self, and confidence. Henry (Heretics Anonymous, 2018) rounds out her cast of characters with Isabel's new stand-up friends, a group of seemingly wise and free college students who have lives less rosy than they appear. It's much like the novel as a whole, which is thoughtfully complex yet accessible, achieving a realism that encourages reader introspection. Isabel becomes Izzy V. on stage to escape the challenging relationships in her life and invites readers along with her, bringing the world of stand-up to life. Perfect for fans of Lance Rubin's Crying Laughing (2019) and John Green's An Abundance of Katherines (2006)."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Sixteen-year-old Isabel Vance isn't the wallflower everyone assumes her to be. While avoiding her overbearing boyfriend one afternoon, she unwittingly walks into a Chicago comedy club, where she ends up performing at an open mic. The challenge proves liberating: "I realize it then, with equal terror and boundless relief: they don't know me.... So I can be anything I want." Isabel's improvised stand-up set doesn't exactly kill, but the teen, who has an auditory processing disorder, earns her first laughs--plus a trio of new friends. The catch? Her comedy chums think "Izzy V." is a 20-something college student just like them. Izzy gets a crash course in joke writing and learns to shut down heckling and harassment, onstage and off, but her lies eventually catch up with her. Henry's (Let's Call It a Doomsday) background as a playwright shines through the banter between Izzy and her fellow comics. It's a credit to the novel's realism that the teen's internal monologue and off-the-cuff remarks are often funnier than her scripted material--showing how, as a budding performer, she's still honing her stand-up persona. Though Izzy is at times painfully naive, readers will enjoy watching her undergo the process of self-transformation, one punch line at a time. Ages 13--up. Agent: Natalie Lakosil, Bradford Literary. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Teenage girls -- Fiction.
High school students -- Fiction.
High schools -- Fiction.
Comedians -- Fiction.
Stand-up comedy -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Publisher New York, NY :2021
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 386 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062955708
0062955705
Other Classic View