A question mark is half a heart

by Lundberg, Sofia, 1974-

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 10 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - World Fiction FICTION Lundberg
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - World Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Lundberg
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction LUNDBERG Sofia
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  LUNDBERG Sofia
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC LUNDB
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC LUNDB
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC LUNDBERG
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC LUNDBERG
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material FIC LUNDBE QUESTI
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Call Number  FIC LUNDBE QUESTI
 
 
South Park Library World Fiction WORLD LUNDBERG
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  World Fiction
 
Call Number  WORLD LUNDBERG
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Fiction FICTION LUNDBERG Sofia
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION LUNDBERG Sofia
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Lundberg
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Lundberg
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
How deeply can you love when your heart is full of secrets?



A sweeping, propulsive family story about a woman learning to love, from the bustle of New York's fashion scene to a remote, windswept Swedish island, by the acclaimed author of The Red Address Book-- "a love letter to the human heart" (Alyson Richman).



By age 50, Elin Boals has created for herself a perfect life: her wildly successful business as Manhattan's preeminent fashion photographer is flourishing. Her handsome, patient husband is devoted to her; her teenaged daughter, Alice, has been accepted to the ballet academy of her dreams. But then Elin receives an innocuous looking envelope. Folded inside is a star-chart, with an address written by a familiar hand.



Shaken, Elin begins to have startling flashbacks, to a life very different from the childhood in a Paris bookstore that she has so lovingly recounted to Alice. In these images, a poverty-stricken little girl cares for her two ragged baby brothers, laughing with her family on the good days, sheltering them from her mother's sadness and her father's wrath on the bad days. Elin also remembers vivid walks with a young classmate, Fredrik, whose steadfast friendship and starlit confidences shaped her young life. As Elin becomes consumed by these memories, though, her New York life begins to crumble dramatically. Finally, her family's troubling questions drive her to face, at last, the brutal secret from her past.



At once a heartwarming family story and a page-turning mystery, A Question Mark Is Half a Heart traces a surprising journey across continents to reconciliation, and toward finding a true sense of home.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The latest translation of Swedish author Lundberg's work focuses on Elin, a model-turned-fashion-photographer whose unresolved trauma echoes through her adult life. Her marriage is crumbling, and her relationship with her teenage daughter is tense. When she receives a letter from a childhood friend, haunting memories return to the surface, further threatening the life she has carefully built. Raised with her two younger brothers by an overwhelmed single mother, Elin's only comforts are Fredrik, her best friend; Aina, a kindhearted neighbor; and Gerd, a kindly shop owner. The family struggles with poverty until a surprise inheritance provides a sudden windfall, but money doesn't improve Elin's situation. As a teenager, Elin flees her home in search of a fresh start, but, as an adult, she learns that forgiveness is the only way she can be free. Elin is a complex character with a compelling story, and Lundberg avoids the obvious resolutions that readers may expect in favor of a deeper exploration of the meaning of love, forgiveness, and family. This satisfying novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Duffy and Patti Callahan Henry."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this tense outing, Lundberg (The Red Address Book) follows photographer Elin as she attempts to come to grips with the course of her life. Elin, her husband Sam, and her teenage daughter, Alice, live in luxury in Manhattan, but Elin's childhood in Sweden, where her family often didn't have enough money for milk, was a different story. Now, Elin is unsatisfied in her career, faces trouble with her marriage because Sam feels shut out by her, and is disconnected from her daughter. After receiving a star chart and a mysterious note in Swedish reading "On this day, a star was named Elin," Elin eventually determines the missive came from Fredrik, a friend from school. As the novel continues, Lundberg gradually reveals the complexity of Elin and Fredrik's bond and the entwined relationship of their families, as they become stepsiblings, and Elin's mysterious Google search for "Statute of limitations homicide Sweden" takes on startling connotation after a surprise plot twist. The author succeeds at painting a picture of Elin and Fredrik's intersecting families, as Elin grapples with the decisions she made for self-preservation. Readers will soak up the suspense as they search for the truth alongside Elin up until the end. (Mar.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women photographers -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Life change events -- Fiction.
Homecoming -- Fiction.
Guilt -- Fiction.
Sweden -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher Boston :2021
Edition First U.S. edition.
Other Titles Frågetecken är ett halvt hjärta.
Contributors Smalley, Nichola, translator.
Language English
Description 310 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781328473028
1328473023
Other Classic View