This is how we fly

by Meriano, Anna,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 11 Libraries 11 of 13 copies
Available (11)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv MERIANO Anna
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv MERIANO Anna
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Meriano
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Meriano
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC MER
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC MER
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Meriano
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Meriano
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Meriano
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Meriano
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Meriano
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Meriano
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Young Adult YA FIC MER
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC MER
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books Y MERIANO ANNA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Call Number  Y MERIANO ANNA
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC MERIANO
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC MERIANO
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA MER
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA MER
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW MERIANO
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW MERIANO
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
*"Truly enchanting."-- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A loose retelling of Cinderella, about a high-school graduate who--after getting grounded for the whole summer--joins a local Quidditch league and finds her footing, perfect for fans of Dumplin' , Fangirl , and everyone who's read and adored Harry Potter.

17-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window.

Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn't quite what Ellen expects. There's no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports- her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans.

Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs.

But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control--Ellen must fight for the future that she wants, now she's playing for keeps.

Filled with heart and humor, Anna Meriano's YA debut is perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Hot Dog Girl .


Praise for This is How We Fly -

* "Readers will find much to appreciate about Ellen's fresh, relatable journey to define herself on her own terms." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A timely coming-of-age story with a unique Quidditch twist."-- School Library Journal

"Anna Meriano's This is How We Fly is a delightful treat of a book that will make you want to grab your broom and go! A story of a young woman at a crossroads summer, this tale tackles the growing pains of late adolescence - family struggles, changing friendships, new crushes - with so much grace and heart. See you on the pitch!" - Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Liars of Mariposa Island and Moxie

" This is How We Fly breathes new life into a sport and retelling we think we know and lets them bake beneath the Texas sun. Anna Meriano has written one of the most authentic teen voice I've read in years."-- Nina Moreno, author of Don't Date Rosa Santos

" This is How We Fly is, at its heart, about fierce friendships, flirty beaters, and firsts. Anna Meriano takes the magical fairytale of Cinderella and gives it a bookish twist. Ellen is an existential crisis on a broom and I love her." - Ashley Poston, National Bestselling Author of Geekerella

"Meriano adeptly weaves questions of identity, friendship and family into this delightful summer tale about the thrilling world of club Quidditch. At times both hilarious and heartbreaking, this incredible story is sure to leave you flying high."-- Jennifer Dugan, author of Hot Dog Girl and Verona Comics
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this "Cinderella" retelling, 17-year-old vegan, gender-questioning Ellen Lopez-Rourke, who is Mexican American, planned to spend her summer with best friends Xiumiao and Melissa. But when Ellen ends up grounded and Xiumiao decides to move on from her crush on Melissa, who's straight, Ellen finds herself allowed one outlet: quidditch. What begins as an excuse to get out of the house soon becomes much more as Ellen finds fellowship among the players, many of whom are socially conscious feminists like herself, from a range of experiences and backgrounds. As she struggles to navigate relationships with her friends and demanding stepmother, Ellen must also reckon with and accept her own role in the shifting bonds. Through a conversational first-person voice that firmly grounds the reader in the main character's inner tumult, Meriano portrays Ellen's heightened awareness and dedication to social equity and inclusion alongside the timeless sense of unease that comes with new beginnings and major change. Readers will find much to appreciate about Ellen's fresh, relatable journey to define herself on her own terms. Ages 12--up. Agent: Patricia Nelson, Marsal Lyon Literary. (Dec.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Stepfamilies -- Fiction.
Families -- Texas -- Fiction.
Vegans -- Fiction.
Quidditch (Game) -- Fiction.
High school graduates -- Fiction.
Texas -- Fiction.
Houston (Tex.) -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Sports fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Publisher New York :2020
Language English
Description 465 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780593116876
0593116879
Other Classic View