They never learn

by Fargo, Layne,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 12 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction FICTION Fargo
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Fargo
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Fargo
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Fargo
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material FIC FARGO THEY
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Call Number  FIC FARGO THEY
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction NEW FARGO
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  NEW FARGO
 
 
 
Unavailable (8)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Allegheny Regional New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Hill District Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection ON HOLDSHELF
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Crafton Public Library Adult - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Adult - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
South Park Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
From the author of the "raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless" (Wendy Walker, USA TODAY bestselling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve.

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she's even better at getting away with murder.

Every year, she searches for the worst man at Gorman University and plots his well-deserved demise. Thanks to her meticulous planning, she's avoided drawing attention to herself--but as she's preparing for her biggest kill yet, the school starts probing into the growing body count on campus. Determined to keep her enemies close, Scarlett insinuates herself into the investigation and charms the woman in charge, Dr. Mina Pierce. Everything's going according to her master plan...until she loses control with her latest victim, putting her secret life at risk of exposure.

Meanwhile, Gorman student Carly Schiller is just trying to survive her freshman year. Finally free of her emotionally abusive father, all Carly wants is to focus on her studies and fade into the background. Her new roommate has other ideas. Allison Hadley is cool and confident--everything Carly wishes she could be--and the two girls quickly form an intense friendship. So when Allison is sexually assaulted at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with making the attacker pay...and turning her fantasies about revenge into a reality.

Featuring Layne Fargo's trademark "propulsive writing style" ( Kirkus Reviews ) and "sinister, of the moment" ( Chicago Review of Books ) suspense, They Never Learn is a feminist serial killer story perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Fargo's second psychological thriller (following Temper, 2019) will satisfy her fans and delight revenge aficionados everywhere. Scarlett Clark is a popular English professor at Gorman University. But Scarlett has a secret: "I've spent the last sixteen years murdering men who deserve it." All of her victims have come from the university community, so it's no surprise that campus officials decide to appoint a special investigator. In her initial arrogance--and, later, thanks to a heated romantic relationship--Scarlett puts her secret life at risk. Meanwhile, Gorman freshman Carly Schiller is trying to keep a low profile, but her roommate, Allison, has plans for her, and the two students develop an intense friendship. When Allison is sexually assaulted, Carly becomes obsessed with making a frat boy pay. Intense is the key word here, and the author does an astonishingly good job in getting inside the heads of Scarlett and Carly as they take turns narrating. A Shakespeare class on Titus Andronicus is cleverly inserted into the story: "Vengeance is in my heart, death in my hand, Blood and revenge are hammering in my head.""
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this searing psychological thriller from Fargo (Temper), vengeful Gorman University English professor Scarlett Clark poisons college quarterback (and alleged rapist) Tyler Elkin before posting a suicide note to his Instagram account. Scarlett has spent 16 years murdering predatory men and making their deaths appear accidental or self-inflicted. Experience suggests image-conscious Gorman will sweep Tyler's demise under the rug, but instead Tyler's star-athlete status spurs the Pennsylvania school to review past suicides looking for mitigatable risk factors. Scarlett knows she should lay low, but she needs to murder her lecherous department head before he claims the fellowship she covets. Meanwhile, timorous freshman Carly Schiller, who grew up in an abusive home, starts harboring violent thoughts about upperclassman Sebastian Waller after he assaults her roommate, Allison Hadley. Never mind the contrived setup and several characters lacking depth. Fargo shocks and entertains while delivering a scathing take-down of campus rape culture. Fans of Chelsea Cain will appreciate this fiercely feminist twist on serial killer fiction. Agent: Sharon Pelletier, Dystel, Goderich, & Bourett. (Oct.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women college teachers -- Fiction.
Serial murderers -- Fiction.
Murder -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Men -- Crimes against -- Fiction.
College students -- Fiction.
Serial murder investigation -- Fiction.
Vigilantes -- Fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Detective and mystery fiction.
Campus fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First Scout Press hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 342 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781982132026
1982132027
9781982132033
1982132035
Other Classic View