You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

The appointment : (or, the story of a Jewish cook)

by Volckmer, Katharina, 1987-

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: On Order 7 copies
5 people on waitlist
On Order (7)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Allegheny Regional LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - East Liberty LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Hill District Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill LGBTQ ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  LGBTQ
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary
For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Han Kang, a whip-smart, darkly funny, and subversive debut novel in which a woman on the verge of major change addresses her doctor in a stream of consciousness narrative.

In a well-appointed examination in London, a young woman unburdens herself to a certain Dr. Seligman. Though she can barely see above his head, she holds forth about her life and desires, her struggles with her sexuality and identity. Born and raised in Germany, she has been living in London for several years, determined to break free from her family origins and her haunted homeland. But the recent death of her grandfather, and an unexpected inheritance, make it clear that you cannot easily outrun your own shame, whether it be physical, familial, historical, national, or all of the above.

Or can you? With Dr. Seligman's help, our narrator will find out.

In a monologue that is both deliciously dark and subversively funny, she takes us on a wide-ranging journey from Hitler-centered sexual fantasies and overbearing mothers to the medicinal properties of squirrel tails and the notion that anatomical changes can serve as historical reparation. The Appointment is an audacious debut novel by an explosive new international literary voice, challenging all of our notions of what is fluid and what is fixed, and the myriad ways we seek to make peace with others and ourselves in the 21st century.
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Volckmer's coruscating debut takes the form of a Bernhardian monologue made during a medical exam. While the title is a nod to the novel's setting, its alternate title (The Story of a Jewish Cock) engenders the salacious tone. Sarah, the German-born, London-based 30-something narrator, opens the book by relating her sexual fantasies of Hitler to Dr. Seligman, her Jewish gynecologist. As Seligman examines Sarah, she provides a chaise lounges-like Freudian confessional, a setup that allows Volckmer to display her mastery of dark comedy. Sarah ponders epithets for the Fuhrer's penis and explains how loving "a Jew... a proper one, with curls and a skullcap" is the only way for a German to overcome Holocaust guilt. The narrative is deepened when Sarah explores how the shame of being German has impacted her psyche: she describes a romance begun in a public toilet and her disdain for her familial and national roots, even airing out her frustration of being stereotyped as a German well versed in "Max fucking Sebald." The book ends in a passage of contemplative beauty that grounds Sarah as a human trying to solve her own complications. The narration successfully walks a tightrope of incendiary subject matter via German-Jewish humor and literary touchstones; Volckmer's inversion of Portnoy's Complaint is a revelation. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Young women -- Fiction.
Physician and patient -- Fiction.
Inheritance and succession -- Fiction.
Grandfathers -- Fiction.
Sexual fantasies -- Fiction.
Grandfathers.
Inheritance and succession.
Physician and patient.
Sexual fantasies.
Young women.
Fiction.
Novellas.
Psychological fiction.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First Avid Reader Press hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 134 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781982150174
1982150173
Other Classic View