One time

by Creech, Sharon,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 18 Libraries 18 of 26 copies
Available (18)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Juvenile Fiction J CRE
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J CRE
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv CREECH Sharon
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv CREECH Sharon
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J F CRE
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F CRE
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Children's New Books j FICTION Creech
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Children's New Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION Creech
 
 
CLP - Brookline Children's New Books j FICTION Creech
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Children's New Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION Creech
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection j FICTION Creech
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Creech
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Children's Fiction Collection j FICTION Creech
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Creech
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Childrens' Room j FIC CRE
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Childrens' Room
 
Call Number  j FIC CRE
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC CREE
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC CREE
 
 
Crafton Public Library Juvenile - Fiction J F CREECH 2020 CRAFTON 10/20
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile - Fiction
 
Call Number  J F CREECH 2020 CRAFTON 10/20
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF CREECH Sharon
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF CREECH Sharon
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J FIC CREEC
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  J FIC CREEC
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J CRE
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J CRE
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j CRE
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j CRE
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC CRE
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC CRE
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material J FIC CREECH
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Call Number  J FIC CREECH
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile New Books  J F CRE
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile New Books 
 
Call Number  J F CRE
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG CREECH
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG CREECH
 
 
 
Unavailable (8)
Location Collection Status
CLP - East Liberty Children's Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Middle Grade Section CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade Section
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Pleasant Hills Public Library Juvenile IN PROCESSING
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

From Sharon Creech, Newbery Medal winner and New York Times bestselling author, comes a powerful coming-of-age story of a girl who discovers the endless possibilities her future may hold, with help from a brilliant teacher and a boy with a generous smile.

Perfect for fans of Love That Dog, this tale is about the transformative power of imagination and the journey to becoming who you are meant to be. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, at home or at school. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Gina Filomena has been told she has an overactive imagination. With her bright clothing and artistic spirit, she's always felt different from the other kids in her class. That is, until she meets her new neighbor, a mysterious boy named Antonio with a wide, welcoming smile.

Add in a creative new teacher, Miss Lightstone, and a world of possibilities opens up for Gina, Antonio, and their classmates. With the help of Antonio and Miss Lightstone, will Gina find the answers to the questions Who am I? and Who do I want to be?

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Antonio moves into 11-year-old Gina's neighborhood, she feels an immediate connection with the boy, who charms their classmates as well. Their young language arts teacher, who starts the year by writing "Who are you?" on the board, encourages reflection, imagination, and self-expression, while instilling a love of writing in her students. Later that year, when Antonio leaves suddenly, the loss is painful, particularly for Gina. The last chapter picks up her first-person story 20 years later, as she reflects on her experiences and tells what paths she, Antonio, and their former classmates have chosen. Written in short chapters with lively and sometimes amusing characterizations of adults as well as kids, this is a quiet book, but an engaging one. There's something haunting about Creech's portrayal of the increasingly writing-obsessed school class and the boy whose absence was so keenly felt at the time and whose presence was remembered years later. And on the last page, Gina wonders about the reader, asking, "Who are you? Who could you be?" A thought-provoking chapter book from start to finish."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Eleven-year-old Gina Filomena lives in Ohio with her mother and father. In the past, her colorful clothes and imaginative stories about Angel Lucia--both sent by her Italian nonna--have garnered unwanted attention at school, including bullying cries of "Gina gypsy." But her new teacher, Miss Lightstone, also wears colorful clothes and encourages her students to write with abandon. When Gina's friendly new neighbor, Antonio, joins her class, his "wide, gleaming, welcoming smile" and unusual observations ("There was a porcupine here--right here--eating licorice") enthrall her classmates. With the help of her eclectic teacher and perceptive Antonio, with whom she finds herself mentally connected, Gina begins to see the world differently, questioning who she is, who she might become, and what possibilities life holds for her and for her classmates. In short, vignette-like chapters, Newbery Medalist Creech (Walk Two Moons) expertly develops a relatable, amusingly foibled cast--including Gina's inquisitive schoolmates and demanding Italian relatives--and classroom verve conveyed via a scriptlike immediacy. Threaded with themes of friendship, acceptance, and self-discovery, Gina's story slowly unfolds, reminding readers that it's okay to imagine life's possibilities while still accepting its undeniable realities. Ages 8--12. Agent: Amy Berkower, Writers House. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Imagination -- Juvenile fiction.
Teachers -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Juvenile fiction.
Imagination -- Fiction.
Teachers -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Family life -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2020
Edition First edition.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Description 253 pages ; 20 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references (page 253).
ISBN 9780062570741
0062570749
9780062570758
0062570757
Other Classic View