You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Last Tang standing

by Ho, Lauren,

Format: Kindle Book 2020 2020
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 4 copies
24 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (4)
Summary
"At thirty-three, Andrea Tang is living the dream: She has a successful career as a lawyer, a posh condo, and a clutch of fun-loving friends who are always in the know about Singapore's hottest clubs and restaurants. All she has to do is make partner at her law firm and she will have achieved everything she's worked for. And if she's about to become the lone unmarried member of her generation in the Tang clan--a disappointment her meddling Chinese-Malaysian family won't let her forget--well, who needs a husband, anyway? Yet being the Last Tang Standing sends Andrea into a tailspin she wasn't expecting--and, for the first time, she begins to question the life she thought she wanted. When a chance encounter with handsome, wealthy entrepreneur Eric Deng offers her a glimpse of a future more lavish than she could have imagined, Andrea decides that giving Mr. Right-for-her-family a chance might not be so bad after all. So why can't she stop thinking about Suresh Aditparan, her annoyingly attractive office rival and the last man her relatives would approve of? With a battle waging between her head and her heart, Andrea can't help but wonder: In the endless tug-of-war between pleasing others and pleasing herself, is there room for everyone to win?"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "At 33, Andrea Tang is living the life she is supposed to live in Singapore; she's up for partner at her law firm, in possession of the latest designer handbag, surrounded by devoted friends, living in a posh apartment. The only thing she hasn't successfully accomplished is landing a husband. When her cousin's engagement leaves her the titular last Tang standing (i.e., unmarried), things start to get real. Competing with office mate Suresh for a promotion while dating handsome and wealthy, marriage-minded entrepreneur Eric, Andrea has to decide what she wants from her life and what happiness means to her. Does she make partner, marry Eric, and live lavishly ever after? Does she quit her job and redirect her life entirely? Is her rivalry with Suresh shifting from antagonism to civility to friendship to something else? Ho's debut is a charming and witty diary of a year in the life of Andrea Tang. It's a good match for fans of The Hating Game, Crazy Rich Asians, and young professional women who feel at a crossroads."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Ho's witty, slow-burning debut opens on the holiday dreaded by Southeast Asian singles across the world--Chinese New Year. After Andrea Tang, the last single woman in her family, is forced to face the "'Why Are You Still Single in Your Thirties, You Disappointment to Your Ancestors" inquisition, she leaves the family gathering more determined than ever to become a partner at her Singapore law firm and somehow find a man who will meet her family's expectations. In humorous diary entries, Andrea details her awkward dating app encounters and near-constant hangovers. Before long, she's caught between two potential suitors: Eric Deng, a handsome entrepreneur her family is sure to approve of, and her work rival, Suresh Aditparan, who she can't seem to get out of her head even though her family would not approve because he's not Chinese. Though Andrea's obliviousness to her own and others' emotions becomes increasingly frustrating as she struggles to choose between her head and her heart, this fun, upbeat tale remains entertaining throughout. Ho's cute, quippy love story is sure to captivate rom-com fans. Agent: Allison Hunter, Janklow & Nesbit. (June)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Asian American families Fiction
Single women Fiction
Humorous stories
Literature
Romance
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Electronic books.
Domestic fiction.
Romance fiction.
Love stories.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Penguin Publishing Group2020
2020
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9780593187821
9780593187821
Other Classic View