The Library Catalog will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Sunday, February 28 from 9 PM until midnight. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Home home

by Allen-Agostini, Lisa,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 8 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen New Books FICTION Allen-Agostini
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Allen-Agostini
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen New Books FICTION Allen-Agostini
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Allen-Agostini
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction FICTION Allen-Agostini
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Allen-Agostini
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ALLEN
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC ALLEN
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC ALLEN-AGOSTINI
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC ALLEN-AGOSTINI
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA FIC ALL
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC ALL
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Summary
Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home.

Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever.

Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do.

But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't see it yet, Canada is a place where she can feel at home--if she can only find the courage to be honest with herself.

" Allen-Agostini uses frank yet gentle prose...[in this] hopeful story about finding one's place and the sometimes-difficult journey to self-acceptance."- Kirkus Reviews , Starred review

"An accessible look at teen anxiety and depression...[ Home Home ] shines in its depictions of the physical and emotional aspects of anxiety and depression ...[and] teens of color coping with mental illness will find common cause with this Trini girl's journey toward self-actualization and healing."-- Booklist

" Allen-Agostini depicts the culture of her homeland with honesty and enlightening details, ... delivering important messages about acceptance and mental illness. "- SLJ
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "An accessible look at teen anxiety and depression through the lens of a Trindadian girl, Allen-Agostini's (The Chalice Project, 2009) second YA novel is an immersive look at different ways the disorder can be disruptive and damaging to young people. After attempting suicide, the 14-year-old protagonist (her name is not mentioned until the very end of the story) is shipped from her home in Trinidad to live with her aunt and aunt's partner in Canada, and she spends most of the book trapped inside her own head with dispiriting thoughts about her intelligence and appearance. While she does take antidepressants and antianxiety medication, they are not portrayed as a panacea or quick fix; instead, they are just one of several tools she uses to fight the disease. The book shines in its depictions of the physical and emotional aspects of anxiety and depression. While the deliberate pacing and introspective focus of the story may not appeal to all readers, teens of color coping with mental illness will find common cause with this Trini girl's journey toward self-actualization and healing."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "After a major depressive episode leads to hospitalization, 14-year-old Kayla is sent from Trinidad to Canada, where her Aunt Jillian and her partner, Julie, prove far more understanding of Kayla's mental health needs than her traditional, emotionally distant mother. Kayla still misses "home home" and her best friend Akilah, and she continues to struggle: catching the right bus, for example, causes her to teeter on the edge of a panic attack. When another episode sets Kayla back, her mother decides it's time to come home, but the loving support system and new connections she has established in Canada have started to feel more nourishing. Allen-Agostini (The Chalice Project) uses clear, concise prose to break down the daunting reality of depression and anxiety. Strong interpersonal dynamics balance hard themes, including homophobia, suicidal ideation, troubled parent relationships, and the minimization of depression, resulting in a quietly optimistic story. Ages 14--up. Agent: Margot Edwards, Rights Consultancy. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Home -- Fiction.
Panic attacks -- Fiction.
Edmonton (Alta.) -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 153 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781984893581
1984893580
9781984893598
1984893599
Other Classic View