The MX book of new Sherlock Holmes stories. Part XVI, Whatever remains ... must be the truth (1881-1890)

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION MX
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
Call Number  FICTION MX
The Wylington Lake monster / by Derrick Belanger
The Juju men of Richmond / by Mark Sohn
The adventure of the headless lady / by Tracy J. Revels
Angelus domini nuntiavit / by Kevin Thornton
The blue lady of Dunraven / by Andrew Bryant
The adventure of the ghoulish grenadier / by Josh Anderson and David Friend
The curse of Barcombe Keep / by Brenda Seabrooke
The affair of the regressive man / by David Marcum
The adventure of the giant's wife / by I.A. Watson
The adventure of Miss Anna Truegrace / by Arthur Hall
The haunting of Bottomly's grandmother / by Tim Gambrell
The adventure of the intrusive spirit / by Shane Simmons
The Paddington poltergeist / by Bob Bishop
The spectral pterosaur / by Mark Mower
The weird of Caxton / by Kevin Jones
The adventure of the obsessive ghost / by Jayantika Ganguly.

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "The 16 stories in Marcum's excellent 16th pastiche anthology pit Sherlock Holmes against ghosts, werewolves, and various other monsters, offering clever, rational solutions to seemingly paranormal mysteries. A highlight is Mark Mower's striking "The Spectral Pterosaur," in which a rash of fossil thefts brings Insp. Stephen Maddocks of Scotland Yard to Baker Street. Before he can elaborate on the "unearthly vision" he has witnessed, however, Maddocks drops dead from an apparent heart attack. The plot thickens when Holmes and Watson learn that before his visit Maddocks claimed to have seen a fossilized pterodactyl at the British Museum come to life. Derrick Belanger is equally inventive in "The Wylington Lake Monster," in which an old army colleague of Watson's involves him and Holmes in a murder mystery where the culprit is supposedly a water spirit resembling a man. A figure from Holmes's childhood entreats him for help in another of the volume's standouts, I.A. Watson's "The Adventures of the Giant's Wife," in which a murder victim reported seeing one giant ghost kill another. Marcum has once again done fans of Conan Doyle's originals a service. (Dec.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Holmes, Sherlock -- Fiction.
Watson, John H. -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Doyle, Arthur Conan, -- 1859-1930 -- Characters -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Short stories.
Publisher London :MX Publishing,2019
Edition First edition.
Other Titles Whatever remains ... must be the truth (1881-1890)
Contributors Marcum, David, 1965- editor.
MX Publishing, publisher.
Language English
Notes Anthology.
"Traditional Holmes adventures compiled for the benefit of the restoration of Undershaw."
Description 404 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781787055025
Other Classic View