The Library Catalog will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Sunday, February 28 from 9 PM until midnight. We apologize for any inconvenience.

The sound of stars

by Dow, Alechia,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 6 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Dow
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Dow
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books Y DOW ALECHIA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Call Number  Y DOW ALECHIA
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC DOW
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC DOW
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF DOW
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF DOW
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Robinson Library Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves pop music work together to save humanity? A beautiful and thrilling debut novel for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population.

Today, seventeen-year-old Ellie Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie still keeps a secret library.

When young Ilori commander M0Rr1S finds Ellie's library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more.

Humanity's fate rests in the hands of an alien Ellie should fear, but M0Rr1S has a potential solution--thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous journey with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Seventeen-year-old Janelle (Ellie) Baker survived the invasion of the Ilori aliens two years ago and now lives under their dystopian scrutiny. When M0Rr1S (Morris), a prominent Ilori commander made to appear human, learns she runs an illicit library, he is captivated by the face that she loves books enough to risk her life. That's how he feels about music, and so he offers her protection if she can smuggle him old records and iPods. But when Ellie ends up scheduled for execution anyway, and Morris garners suspicion by intervening, the two end up on a cross-country road trip with rebellion in their sights. Though the pacing is often slowed down by exposition, much of it is spent delving into the issues that have shaped Ellie, and which are bound to resonate with readers including sexuality, racism, and anxiety. Readers will swoon over the sweet romance that blooms between her and Morris, who is clueless and enlightened in equal measure. Filled to the brim with pop culture references, Dow's fun, heart-healing debut will find fans among readers of Marie Lu.--Eleanor Roth Copyright 2020 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Debut author Dow combines alien invasion, dystopian romance, and road trip tropes in this story of an alien occupation of Earth. Seventeen-year-old Janelle "Ellie" Baker, who is African-American and suffers from anxiety and hypothyroidism, operates a contraband library in her New York City apartment building, where 1,000 people, including her family, are being held by the alien Ilori. Humanlike M0Rr1S, or "Morris," is a labmade Ilori created for the specific purpose of developing a "vaccine" that will suppress humans' consciousness and allow the energy-based true Ilori to occupy human bodies on Earth for recreation. Unlike other Ilori, though, Morris experiences emotions deeply, something that infuriates his high-ranking father. Upon finding Ellie's library, he doesn't turn her in but instead solicits her aid in finding the human music that he loves. When Ellie's secret is discovered, Morris rescues her from execution, and the two flee with their trove of music and books, their relationship turning romantic along the way. Amid references to popular media, Dow paints a moving picture of two young people's defiance and the power of song and story to combat despair. Ages 13--up. Agent: Uwe Stender, Triada US. (Feb.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Human-alien encounters -- Fiction.
Hypothyroidism -- Fiction.
Libraries -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Science fiction.
Dystopian fiction.
Road fiction.
Publisher Toronto, Ontario :2020
Language English
Description 426 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781335911551
1335911553
Other Classic View