The black flamingo

by Atta, Dean,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 16 Libraries 18 of 26 copies
Available (18)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult YA ATT
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA ATT
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA ATTA Dean
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA ATTA Dean
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Atta
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Atta
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC ATT
Returned today
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC ATT
Returned today
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Young Adult Fiction YA Att
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA Att
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Atta
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Atta
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Atta
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Atta
 
 
CLP - Hill District Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Atta
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Atta
 
 
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Atta
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Atta
 
 
Crafton Public Library Young Adult - Fiction YA F ATTA 2020 CRAFTON 5/21
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult - Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F ATTA 2020 CRAFTON 5/21
 
 
Millvale Community Library Teen Fiction YAF ATT
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF ATT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books YA Atta Dean
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Call Number  YA Atta Dean
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books YA Atta Dean
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Call Number  YA Atta Dean
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ATTA
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC ATTA
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Young Adult YA Fic Att
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA Fic Att
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW ATTA
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW ATTA
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW ATTA
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW ATTA
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF ATTA
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF ATTA
 
 
 
Unavailable (8)
Location Collection Status
Braddock Carnegie Library Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books STAFF USE
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  STAFF USE
 
 
Dormont Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

"In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Throughout his childhood, Michael knew he was different in more ways than one; he considered himself like the black flamingo of Cyprus--anatomically the same, but a standout amongst his flock. When he comes out during high school with uncertainties about what exactly his sexual preferences are, he's faced with a lot of big questions related to his family, friends, and ultimately who he wants to be in the world as he prepares to take off to university. This British import captures its audience from the very first page, with verse poetry that grows and matures alongside its protagonist. Whereas some stories aim to tell all, Atta's writing emphasizes the importance of pauses, allowing the silences to speak just as loudly as what is being said. Michael's internal dissonances are relatable on the most human level, leaving readers in a state of ultimate euphoria when he finally finds family in the Drag Society and begins his reconciliation both with himself and with the world."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta (I Am Nobody's Nigger, for adults) chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he matures from a child to a man. Navigating cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality, Michael sheds the painful baggage of his absent father by taking his mother's name. He also grows from a kid who cries when he receives a Ninja Turtle instead of the Barbie of his dreams, to a teen who cries after being rejected by his crush, to a man who doesn't cry but rather shouts when a partner breaks his heart. As a teen, he discovers his love of poetry and abandons his love for song, only to fall head over heels for drag at university. Atta expounds on matters of identity and the struggle to find love and community as a gay black man in a majority-white space--Michael feels neither Greek nor black enough, nor, in his estimation, queer enough to fit in. The book's strongest asset is Atta's poetic imagery, which reflects such memorable moments as the origin of Michael's drag persona (from a news story: "a black flamingo/ has landed on the island") and "How to Do Drag" ("Remember eyebrows are sisters,/ not twins"). Atta's story uplifts as it informs and entertains as it affirms; in Michael's words, "It's about being free." Ages 14--up. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Gay teenagers -- Fiction.
Racially mixed people -- Fiction.
Gay men -- Identity -- Fiction.
Female impersonators -- Fiction.
London (England) -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Domestic fiction.
Gay fiction.
Novels in verse.
Publisher New York, NY :2020
Edition First US edition.
Language English
Awards Stonewall Book Award, Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award, 2020
Description 403 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062990297
0062990292
Other Classic View