The Library Catalog will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Sunday, February 28 from 9 PM until midnight. We apologize for any inconvenience.

My mother's house

by Momplaisir, Francesca, 1973-

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 9 Libraries 9 of 12 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
CLP - Carrick Fiction Collection FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Fiction Collection FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
CLP - South Side Fiction FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Momplaisir
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Momplaisir
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction MOMPLAISIR FRANCESCA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MOMPLAISIR FRANCESCA
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F MOMPLAISIR Francesca
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MOMPLAISIR Francesca
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction NEW MOMPLAISIR
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  NEW MOMPLAISIR
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
"A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence . . . This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison's Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy to try to assert truths that ordinary language and realistic imagery cannot communicate . . . Momplaisir's debut introduces her as an author to watch." --Kirkus

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City's South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a rundown house in a community that is quickly changing from an Italian enclave of mobsters to a haven for Haitian immigrants, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay--"my mother's house"--and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn't, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can't even begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien's ultimate evil.
At once an uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and an electrifying page-turner, My Mother's House is a singular, unforgettable achievement.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Lucien emigrates from danger in Haiti, he buys a house for himself, his wife, and their three daughters in South Ozone Park in New York. In Momplaisir's debut, the house is called La Kay and given a voice, forced as it is to shelter the people Lucien exploits, including other immigrants and his own family, as well as a horrifying secret in the basement. The house sets itself on fire when it can no longer tolerate Lucien's acts and remains one of the point-of-view characters as the fire's aftermath unravels Lucien's secrets. Readers of this novel could be triggered by its content, which contains disturbing violence and abuse. Despite the novel's focus on one man, the author places her story in the larger context of immigration, racism, sexism, and injustice. The chapters rotate among two characters and the house, and this unusual tactic succeeds because of the essential point it makes regarding bearing witness versus taking action. Momplaisir's observant and informed writing is sensitive to the emotions of her characters while not sparing readers hard moments."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Momplaisir's provocative debut unearths the secrets and dark desires of a Haitian immigrant family man living in an anthropomorphic house in Queens, N.Y. In 1960s Port-au-Prince, 24-year-old brothel bouncer Lucien Louverture marries 15-year-old Marie-Ange Calvert after he protects her during an attempted coup. They quickly have three daughters, and he moves them all to the U.S. when the girls are still babies. The house he buys possesses humanlike desires and memory ("The House had been hopeful that would bring warmth and harmony to smoke out like burned sage the evil and sadness that had been left behind by its previous gangster head of household"). Initially, the house, which calls itself La Kay, is a hub of activity, with Marie-Ange cooking for the neighborhood's diverse immigrant community, but La Kay grows horrified by Lucien's habits of spying on his wife and daughters. After Marie-Ange dies at 40, La Kay determines to kill Lucien by setting itself on fire. Lucien escapes the inferno, but is desperate to rescue his "girls." The neighbors, knowing his grown daughters have moved out, assume he's senile, but gradually the reader--and La Kay--discover the harrowing details of Lucien's secret basement room where he traps girls and women. Momplaisir's arresting take on the abuse of male power will long haunt the reader. Agent: Victoria Sanders, Victoria Sanders & Assoc. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Haitians -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction.
Immigrants -- United States -- Fiction.
Abusive men -- Fiction.
Psychopaths -- Fiction.
Kidnapping victims -- Fiction.
South Ozone Park (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction.
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction.
Magic realist fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes "This is a Borzoi Book"--Title page verso.
Description 283 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780525657156
0525657150
Other Classic View