Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir

by Ha, Robin,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 23 Libraries 23 of 27 copies
Available (23)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Teen Graphic Novels YA GN HA
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  YA GN HA
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YA HA Robin
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA HA Robin
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Teen Fiction YA GN HA
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GN HA
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YOUNG ADULT GRAPHIC NOVEL Ha
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT GRAPHIC NOVEL Ha
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Teen Graphic Novel TEEN GRAPHIC NOVEL 92 HA
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  TEEN GRAPHIC NOVEL 92 HA
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Graphic Novel GR H
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  GR H
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library - Forest Hills Graphic Novel GR H
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library - Forest Hills
 
Collection  Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  GR H
 
 
CLP - Downtown Second Floor - Teen Graphic Non-Fiction PN6727.H23 Z46 2020
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  Second Floor - Teen Graphic Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  PN6727.H23 Z46 2020
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Graphic Non-Ficion PN6727.H23 Z46 2020
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Non-Ficion
 
Call Number  PN6727.H23 Z46 2020
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Teen Graphic Novels YA GN B HA
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  YA GN B HA
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Teen Graphic Novel YA GRAPHIC NOVEL pb HA
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA GRAPHIC NOVEL pb HA
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Graphic Novels GN ALM
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  GN ALM
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction GRAPHIC NOVEL YA F HA
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  GRAPHIC NOVEL YA F HA
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Graphic Novels YA G-NF 92 HA Robin
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  YA G-NF 92 HA Robin
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YA GRAPHIC HA
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA GRAPHIC HA
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen Biography TEEN B HA
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Biography
 
Call Number  TEEN B HA
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YA B HA Graphic Novel
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA B HA Graphic Novel
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Young Adult YA 92 HA Robin GRAPHIC
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA 92 HA Robin GRAPHIC
 
 
Plum Community Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YA GRAPHIC HA
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA GRAPHIC HA
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book YA B HA 2020
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Call Number  YA B HA 2020
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA GRAPHIC HA
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GRAPHIC HA
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult Graphic Novel YA GN BIO 92 HA
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YA GN BIO 92 HA
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Teen Graphic Novel YAGN 305.9 HA
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novel
 
Call Number  YAGN 305.9 HA
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Carrick Teen Graphic Non-Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Non-Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Graphic Non-Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Graphic Non-Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Teen Graphic Novel CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Teen Graphic Novel
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Scott Township Library Graphic Novel CHECKED OUT
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Graphic Novel
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother.

Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The End of the World as I Know It Ha's first chapter heading happened when she was 14. As a student in 1995 in Seoul, Korea, Ha was mostly a typical teenager, enjoying close friendships, studying hard, and obsessed with reading and drawing comics. That she lives with just her single working mother occasionally caused clucking gossip and bullying at school, but Ha's two-person household was exactly right for mother and daughter. While past vacations took the pair to touristy destinations like Hawaii and Singapore, this year, Ha's mother announces they're flying to Alabama, where they ultimately land in the Kim family home, where three immigrant generations reside. When Ha's mother shockingly reveals she's marrying the recently divorced Mr. Kim, returning to Korea is no longer an option. With unblinking honesty and raw vulnerability, Ha's debut graphic memoir captures her often excruciating journey toward creating, 24 years later, a new identity that I now love. Silenced by lack of English, abused by racist students, even manipulated by a step-cousin, Ha spends her first year in the U.S. experiencing an arduous ordeal. Presented in full-color splendor, her energetic style mirrors the constant motion of her adolescent self, navigating the peripatetic turbulence toward adulthood from Seoul to Alabama to Virginia and back to Seoul just for a visit before finally arriving home.--Terry Hong Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In her YA debut, adult author Ha (Cook Korean!: A Comic Book with Recipes) creates a graphic novel memoir about a girl's transition from Korea to America. Tomboyish Chuna, 14, and her single mother have always been each other's closest relationship. But when her mother decides to remarry, Chuna is uprooted from her comfortable life in South Korea to the completely foreign environs of Huntsville, Ala. Faced with bullying from her classmates and stepfamily, Chuna's only solace is in drawing comics. It is only when Chuna is once more uprooted to the far more ethnically diverse McLean, Va., that she begins to build relationships and an identity that blends her Korean and American identities. Ha's vivid recollections impart a clear sense of place, whether they describe the Korea of her mother's generation or 21st-century Korea, Alabama, and Virginia, depicting each location with distinctive details. The colors are muted, allowing the vibrancy of the storytelling to shine. Touching and subtly humorous, this emotive memoir is as much about the steadfast bond between a mother and daughter as it is about the challenges of being an immigrant in America. Ages 13--up. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Ha, Robin -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Women cartoonists -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Emigration and immigration -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Women immigrants -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Mothers and daughters -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Single mothers -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Teenage girls -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Koreans -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Stepfamilies -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean American families -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korean Americans -- Comic books, strips, etc.
English language -- Study and teaching -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Authorship -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Graphic novels -- Authorship -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Korea -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Alabama -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Autobiographical comics.
Nonfiction comics.
Coming-of-age comics.
Comics (Graphic works)
Graphic novels.
Publisher New York, NY :Balzer + Bray, Harper Alley,2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 227 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780062685100
0062685104
9780062685094
0062685090
Other Classic View