We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Loveboat, Taipei

by Wen, Abigail Hing,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 12 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
Monroeville Public Library Teen New Books Y WEN ABIGAIL
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  Y WEN ABIGAIL
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book YA FIC WEN
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  YA FIC WEN
 
 
Penn Hills Library Youth Y WEN
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Youth
 
Call Number  Y WEN
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book YA WEN
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Call Number  YA WEN
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW WEN
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW WEN
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA FIC WEN
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC WEN
 
 
 
Unavailable (6)
Location Collection Status
Brentwood Library New Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library Teen New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Jefferson Hills Public Library Young Adult IN PROCESSING
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as "an intense rush of rebellion and romance" by #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber, this romantic and layered Own Voices debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a dazzling, fun-filled romp.

"Our cousins have done this program," Sophie whispers. "Best kept secret. Zero supervision."

And just like that, Ever Wong's summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.

But not every student is quite what they seem:

Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance.

Rick Woo is the Yale-bound child prodigy bane of Ever's existence whose perfection hides a secret.

Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.

And under sexy Xavier Yeh's shell is buried a shameful truth he'll never admit.

When these students' lives collide, it's guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

"A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice." --Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

"Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent. An intense rush of rebellion and romance." --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Fresh as a first kiss." --Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

"Fresh, fun, heartfelt, and totally addictive, a story about finding your place--and your people--where you least expected." --Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of the William C. Morris Award finalist Conviction

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "From tea eggs to snake blood sake, the energy of Taipei in the summer provides a winning backdrop to this joyful debut about a young American dancer who finds love and freedom by exploring her Taiwanese roots. By the time Ever Wong's conservative immigrant parents send her to Taiwan for a summer of cultural immersion, she has abandoned her dreams of Broadway for a career in medicine. What she finds instead is the friendship of glamorous Manhattanite Sophie Ha and the romantic attentions of both mercurial prodigy Rick Woo and playboy heir Xavier Yeh. While navigating humid nightclub rendezvous, terrible mistakes, and barely passed Mandarin lessons, Ever gloriously sheds her shame and insecurity and finds the courage to own her choices. Wen deftly conveys the less-explored experience of being an Asian-American in Asia and, importantly, her characters embody the diversity within Asian-American identity. Sobering subjects, including animal abuse and mental health challenges, add additional layers to the heady summer story, but Wen keeps the strongest focus on her characters' freedom and evolution as they grow secure in their identities and desires. Ages 13--up. (Jan.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Asian Americans -- Fiction.
Gifted children -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Taipei (Taiwan) -- Fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Publisher New York, NY :2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 414 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062957276
0062957279
Other Classic View