You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Dog driven

by Johnson, Terry Lynn,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 10 Libraries 10 of 15 copies
Available (10)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction JUV Johnson
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV Johnson
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's New Books j FICTON Johnson
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's New Books
 
Call Number  j FICTON Johnson
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Young Adult Fiction YA Fic Joh
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA Fic Joh
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF JOH
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF JOH
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j JOHNSON Terry
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j JOHNSON Terry
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j JOH
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j JOH
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Juvenile Juv Fic Joh
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  Juv Fic Joh
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC JOH
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC JOH
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC JOH
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC JOH
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG JOHNSON
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG JOHNSON
 
 
 
Unavailable (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection ON HOLDSHELF
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
From the author of Ice Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won't hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness--a race she doesn't know if she can even see to run.

Winning would mean getting her disease--and her sister's--national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl's self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Fourteen-year-old McKenna is about to embark on a dangerous mission to deliver a letter from her younger sister, Emma, to the Foundation for Fighting Blindness. Why dangerous? Because McKenna has entered a dog sled race that follows the Great Superior Mail Run the trail used by nineteenth century mail runners that extends north through Ontario, taking its travelers along and on frozen Lake Superior and over treacherous mountain terrain. McKenna's parents don't know she, like Emma, has the genetic retinal disease Stargardt and her vision is failing. On her first day out, she befriends another teen, Guy, who's become the eyes for his blind lead dog, and the pair supports one another along the three-day race. In a strong voice, McKenna describes her harrowing adventures on the trail, showing her fear but also her strength and determination. Readers will feel the cutting, icy wind and the obstacles on the trail, and they'll hold their breath as they wait to see if McKenna stays safe. Like Gary Paulsen's Winterdance (1994), Johnson shows the deep bonds and trust between musher and dogs, while also shedding light on a little-known genetic eye disorder. Johnson's personal experience of living in Ontario with her own team of Alaskan huskies shines through this book, which bracingly captures the excitement and trepidation of McKenna's adventure.--J. B. Petty Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Dogsledding -- Juvenile fiction.
Sled dogs -- Juvenile fiction.
Dogs -- Juvenile fiction.
People with visual disabilities -- Juvenile fiction.
Wilderness areas -- Juvenile fiction.
Survival -- Juvenile fiction.
Dogsledding -- Fiction.
Sled dogs -- Fiction.
Dogs -- Fiction.
People with visual disabilities -- Fiction.
Wilderness areas -- Fiction.
Survival -- Fiction.
Ontario -- Juvenile fiction.
Canada -- Juvenile fiction.
Canada -- Fiction.
Publisher Boston :2019
Language English
Description 229 pages : illustration, map ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781328551597
1328551598
Other Classic View