We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Rogue heart

by Oh, Axie,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 3 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
Penn Hills Library Youth Y OHA
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Youth
 
Call Number  Y OHA
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material FIC OH ROGUE [YA]
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Call Number  FIC OH ROGUE [YA]
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Warcross meets Final Fantasy in this companion novel to Rebel Seoul, in which a young telepath joins a rebel group on a secret mission to end a decades-long world war.

Neo Beijing, 2201.

To escape the ghosts of her past, eighteen-year-old telepath Ama works by day in a bakery and cafe, and moonlights as a lounge singer in a smoky bar at night. She's anonymous, she's safe from the never-ending world war, and that's how she'd like to stay. But then a resistance group called PHNX recruits her to help save young girls from a government experiment exactly like the one she fled. Soon, Ama is traveling with the resistance on a series of dangerous missions, using her telepathic and telekinetic powers to infiltrate authoritarian Alliance operations and gain intelligence for the democratic resistance.

As they move closer and closer to the warfront, Ama hears about a brilliant new commander rising in the ranks of the Alliance, a young man rumored to have no fear of death. Her unit is assigned to dismantle his operation from the inside. But when Ama sees the commander for the first time, she discovers his identity: Alex Kim, the boy who once broke her heart.

The plan is for Ama to use her telepathic abilities to fool everyone and pose as an officer in Alex's elite guard. But as the final battle approaches, she struggles with her mission and her feelings for Alex. Will she be able to carry out her task? Or will she give up everything for Alex again--only to be betrayed once more?

Part heist novel, part love story, Rogue Heart will appeal to fans of Marie Lu's Warcross and Marissa Meyer's Renegades.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In 2201, genetically engineered supersoldier Ama is in hiding, believed killed in a transport carrier crash during the battle of Neo Seoul two years ago. She's tried to put her painful past behind her, but when a resistance group seeks her help exposing a government experiment like the one she was subjected to, she agrees to become a covert operative. With her telepathic (and light telekinetic) powers, she's an important asset on dangerous assignments, but Ama's biggest mission comes when she's sent to spy on the boy, now a respected army commander, who broke her heart and still believes her dead. This companion novel to Oh's debut Rebel Seoul (2017), pitched as Pacific Rim meets K-drama, follows a new set of characters, with some overlap. The plot is fast (sometimes too fast), and there's a lot going on (sometimes too much), but Oh delivers in spades on rich East Asian representation and high-stakes forbidden romance in a story brimming with futuristic Asian metropolises, teens piloting mecha robots, and all the espionage your heart can handle.--Eleanor Roth Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Telepathy -- Fiction.
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction.
Betrayal -- Fiction.
Spy stories.
Government, Resistance to -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Dystopian fiction.
Spy fiction.
Novels.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Other Titles Rebel Seoul
Contributors Oh, Axie. Rebel Seoul
Language English
Notes "A companion novel to 'Rebel Seoul'." -- tp verso
Description 357 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781643790374
1643790374
Other Classic View