You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Sharks in the time of saviors

by Washburn, Kawai Strong, 1980-

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 3 of 9 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Cooper-Siegel Community Library New Books FIC STR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FIC STR
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Summer Reads Washburn Kawai
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Summer Reads
 
Call Number  Washburn Kawai
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Summer Reads Washburn Kawai
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Summer Reads
 
Call Number  Washburn Kawai
 
 
 
Unavailable (6)
Location Collection Status
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Summer Reads IN TRANSIT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Summer Reads
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Fantasy CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Fantasy
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (7)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Brookline Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Carrick Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - West End Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

Barnes & Noble Discover pick for March 2020
Amazon Editors' Pick for March 2020

Sharks in the Time of Saviors is a groundbreaking debut novel that folds the legends of Hawaiian gods into an engrossing family saga; a story of exile and the pursuit of salvation from Kawai Strong Washburn.

"Old myths clash with new realities, love is in a ride or die with grief, faith rubs hard against magic, and comic flips with tragic so much they meld into something new. All told with daredevil lyricism to burn. A ferocious debut."
--MARLON JAMES, author of Black Leopard, Red Wolf

" So good it hurts and hurts to where it heals. It is revelatory and unputdownable. Washburn is an extraordinarily brilliant new talent."
--TOMMY ORANGE, author of There There

In 1995 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, on a rare family vacation, seven-year-old Nainoa Flores falls overboard a cruise ship into the Pacific Ocean. When a shiver of sharks appears in the water, everyone fears for the worst. But instead, Noa is gingerly delivered to his mother in the jaws of a shark, marking his story as the stuff of legends.

Nainoa's family, struggling amidst the collapse of the sugarcane industry, hails his rescue as a sign of favor from ancient Hawaiian gods--a belief that appears validated after he exhibits puzzling new abilities. But as time passes, this supposed divine favor begins to drive the family apart: Nainoa, working now as a paramedic on the streets of Portland, struggles to fathom the full measure of his expanding abilities; further north in Washington, his older brother Dean hurtles into the world of elite college athletics, obsessed with wealth and fame; while in California, risk-obsessed younger sister Kaui navigates an unforgiving academic workload in an attempt to forge her independence from the family's legacy.

When supernatural events revisit the Flores family in Hawai'i--with tragic consequences--they are all forced to reckon with the bonds of family, the meaning of heritage, and the cost of survival.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Augie and Malia are raising three children in their native Hawaii: basketball prodigy Dean, free spirit Kaui, and miracle son Nainoa, who fell into the ocean during a boat ride in childhood, and was lifted and saved from the water by a pack of benevolent sharks. His salvation becomes the stuff of legend. People travel from far and wide to harness his energy and good fortune for their own healing. Later in life, Nainoa becomes a paramedic, repeatedly conjuring his mythical magic to revive the unrevivable. After Nainoa is unable to save a young mother and child, he faces an existential crisis and returns to Hawaii to soul search. Alone, he journeys deep into the jungle and doesn't return. With Nainoa missing, the rest of the family struggles to understand their dynamic as a unit and their identities on their own. Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere (2017), by Celeste Ng, Washburn's debut is an unforgettable tale of family, heartbreak, and healing, and his prose is lyrical and fresh.--Courtney Eathorne Copyright 2020 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Washburn's standout debut provides a vivid portrait of Hawaiian identity, mythology, and diaspora. This family chronicle opens in 1995 Honok'a as the seven-year-old Nainoa Flores falls from a ship, only to be rescued and returned to his parents by sharks. This seminal event in the lives of the Filipino-Hawaiian Flores family marks Nainoa for life as the "miracle boy," even as his parents struggle to turn a profit on their sugarcane plantation. As things become more desperate, Nainoa and his violent older brother, Dean, and adventuresome younger sister, Kaui, leave the island to seek their fortunes on the mainland. Dean embarks on a promising career as a basketball player in Spokane only to wind up in trouble with the law, while Kaui discovers her sexuality in San Diego, and Nainoa becomes an EMT in Portland, Ore. Poised halfway between their cultural upbringing and hopes for the future, the family is riven by a horrific tragedy that will test them to the breaking point. Though perhaps overlong, Washburn's debut is a unique and spirited depiction of the 50th state and its children. (Mar.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Families -- Fiction.
Mythology -- Fiction.
Sharks -- Fiction.
Animal heroes -- Fiction.
Hawaii -- Fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
Novels.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 376 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780374272081
0374272085
Other Classic View