Allegheny County Public libraries are closed to the public, but the digital library is open! Check out the eLibrary site for more information. If you need a library card, sign up here. Check your local library's website for more information about closures.

The eighth girl

by Chung, Maxine Mei-Fung,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: On Order 5 copies
8 people on waitlist
On Order (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead ON ORDER
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection 
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
South Park Library New Books IN PROCESSING
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book of 2020 from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub.

"The Eighth Girl is an exquisite exploration of childhood trauma and its impact on the psyche. Part thriller, part character study, I devoured this novel in one sitting, reflecting on each sentence, each passage, and each astute observation of humanity. A true gem!" -- Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

In this unsettling, seductive psychological thriller, a young woman with multiple personalities is drawn into London's hellish underworld when she becomes entangled with a man who has an abominable secret, for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh.

One woman, multiple personas. But which one is telling the truth?

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa Wú, a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is manipulated and controlled by a series of alternate personalities. Only three people know about their existence: her shrink Daniel; her stepmother Anna; and her enigmatic best friend Ella. The perfect trio of trust.

When Ella gets a job at a high-end gentleman's club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa's world becomes intimately entangled with Ella's, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret. With no one to turn to and lives at stake, she follows Ella into London's cruel underbelly on a daring rescue mission. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of life in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician's expertise, Chung's psychological debut deftly navigates the swirling confluence of identity, innocence, and the impossible fracturing weights that young women are forced to carry, causing us to question: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or self-destruction?

Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Set in London, Mei-Fung Chung's frenetic debut alternates between two complex and wildly unreliable narrators: Alexa Wú, who has dissociative identity disorder, and her new psychiatrist, Daniel Rosenstein, who seems committed to her treatment. Alexa, an assistant to an accomplished photojournalist, struggles with multiple, distinct personalities that exist inside her head; she also loses time, which often leads to amnesia. Luckily, Alexa has the support of her dearest friend, Ella. Soon after Ella gets a job at a gentlemen's club, she begins to suspect that her boss, Navid, may be trafficking young women. At Ella's urging, Alexa helps her gather evidence of Navid's criminality, but their plans threaten to push Alexa over the edge. The author, whose credentials as a psychoanalytic psychotherapist bring authenticity to the sessions between Alexa and Daniel, sensitively explores Alexa's traumatic childhood and vividly renders her multiple personalities. However, despite a clever twist, readers will have to suspend disbelief to accept the overly neat conclusion. That said, fans of psychological thrillers will be curious to see what Mei-Fung Chung comes up with next. Agent: Bill Clegg, Clegg Agency. (Mar.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects ordreq 10/08/19 xa
Publisher New York, NY :2020
Edition First edition.
Other Titles 8th girl
Description 466 pages : 28 cm
ISBN 9780062931122
Other Classic View