Rabbit and the motorbike

by Hoefler, Kate,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 9 Libraries 9 of 10 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Picture Books PB HOEFLER Kate
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  PB HOEFLER Kate
 
 
Brentwood Library Easy E Hoefler
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Easy
 
Call Number  E Hoefler
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Picture Books E Hoe
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  E Hoe
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books j FICTION Hoefler
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION Hoefler
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Picture Book E HOE
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  E HOE
 
 
F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library Easy Readers JUV EASY HOE
Location  F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library
 
Collection  Easy Readers
 
Call Number  JUV EASY HOE
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Easy ANIMALS JE HOEFLER
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Easy
 
Call Number  ANIMALS JE HOEFLER
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books J PIC HOEFLER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  J PIC HOEFLER
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Picture Books J E HOE
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  J E HOE
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
★ "Exhilarating . . . Graceful text and evocative illustrations combine in this story about the rewards of facing fears and trying something new." -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review

A timeless fable of the journey from grief to acceptance that will touch every reader: Rabbit isn't sure he'll ever be brave enough to go on an adventure. He's a homebody who lives in a quiet field of wheat he dreams of leaving every night. His world is enlarged by his friend Dog and Dog's tales of motorbike adventures. But one day, Dog is gone, and with him, go the stories Rabbit loves so much. Dare Rabbit pick up the motorbike and live his own story?

* A touching tale for those confronting loss and those who are eager to explore and experience the world around them
* Rabbit's bravery in the face of sadness will console, nurture, and inspire young readers
* Author Sarah Jacoby grew up wandering the woods outside of Philadelphia. She now draws for many people and places, including the New York Times , and she is the author and illustrator of Forever or a Day
* Illustrator Kate Hoefler received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan, where she studied as a Colby Fellow. She is the author of Real Cowboys and Great Big Things

Fans of Hungry Jim and Most of the Better Natural Thing in the World will enjoy the touching and meaningful storyline in Rabbit and the Motorbike .

* Great read-aloud book for families/children experiencing loss or heartbreak
* Books for kids ages 3-5
* Children's books for kindergarten-third grade
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Rabbit lives alone in a field of wheat off the highway, and he never leaves, ever, even though he dreams of it each night. Instead, he relies on the stories of Dog, who in his youth traveled the country on his motorbike, before growing old and sick. Then, one day, Dog's visits stop, and the motorbike is left to Rabbit. He continues his quiet life with the bike, and the seasons pass until summer comes, and finally, he takes the bike out ""just down the road, and then off into the world before coming back again with stories of his own to tell. Hoefler (Great Big Things, 2017) tells a somber story of longing, grief, and loss, without once mentioning death or depression. So much emotion is contained within the deceptively simple text in the gentle language, cadence, and imagery and Jacoby (Forever or a Day, 2018) matches the tone with her softly evocative watercolor and pastels, alternating the dark, oppressive grays of loneliness, nighttime, and winter with the muted rainbows of sunlit landscapes, promising hope. Rich in metaphor without an ounce of heavy-handedness, this timeless fable should be left out for a little one to come to and contemplate on their own, when the need arises.--Ronny Khuri Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Timid Rabbit sticks close to home, where his friend Dog regales him daily with tales of his motorbike adventures as a young dog, including "the places he'd felt most alive, where he'd howled at the moon." In textural watercolor and mixed-media spreads, Jacoby (Forever or a Day) renders Dog as a dashing terrier in a black leather jacket; Rabbit, wearing blue overalls, exudes emotion. In a depiction of a vicarious, imagined ride, the two zoom across a spread, leaving a ribbon of color behind them. Then one day, Dog doesn't appear, and grieving Rabbit finds himself the owner of a motorbike. Hoefler (Great Big Things) describes Rabbit's trepidation and conflicted feelings with lilting prose: "He hoped the bike would like not going anywhere." But at his own, inch-by-inch rate, he conquers his fear. When he does set out at last, Jacoby's spreads of the towering trees and expansive beaches he discovers deliver excitement and triumph. Alongside its elements of risk and loud noise, the story's treatment of death and anxiety makes it a quiet, inward-turned tale. Ages 5--8. Agent: Steve Malk, Writers House. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Rabbits -- Juvenile fiction.
Dogs -- Juvenile fiction.
Motorcycles -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Rabbits -- Fiction.
Dogs -- Fiction.
Motorcycles -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Publisher San Francisco :2019
Contributors Jacoby, Sarah (Illustrator), illustrator.
Language English
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 x 29 cm
ISBN 9781452170909
1452170908
Other Classic View