Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The winemaker's wife

by Harmel, Kristin,

Format: Kindle Book 2019 2019
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 1 of 13 copies
9 people on waitlist
Available from OverDrive (1)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (12)
Summary
"From the author of the "engrossing" (People) and "poignant" (Booklist) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amelie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them. At the dawn of the Second World War, Ines is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Ines feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo's wife, Sarah. But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it's merely the Nazi weinfuhrer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler's cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Ines's life is safe--least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Resistance in the champagne caves. Ines realizes she has to do something to help. Sarah feels as lost as Ines does, but she doesn't have much else in common with Michel's young wife. Ines seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she's "safe." Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents--and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about--and the champagne house they've all worked so hard to save. In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job--and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive--and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, The Winemaker's Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives--and how hope can come from the places we least expect"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The lives of several strong women intervene in a complicated historical tale of love and war. Set in France's historic champagne vineyards, The Winemaker's Wife begins with rising anxiety about the Nazi's arrival to Maison Chauveau in 1940. Inès Chauveau and her husband/vineyard owner Michael work alongside Theo Laurent, Maison Chauveau's chef de cave or cellar master and his wife Céline. Céline, considered a Jew based on her father's family even though her mother was Catholic, fears the arrival of Germans the most. The story then jumps to the present day with Liv Kent's divorce and the unexpected appearance of her grandmother Edith who whisks her away to Paris. Edith becomes elusive about their purpose in Europe and Liv is introduced to a dashing young lawyer handling her grandmother's affairs. Shifting years and perspectives, lives intersect as Liv, Céline, and Inès cope with fast changes and romantic mistakes. This WW2 novel takes a unique approach with details of the winemaking process highlighting the author's research into the Champagne region.--Monica Garza Bustillo Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects World War, 1939-1945 France Fiction
Family secrets Fiction
Literature
Historical Fiction
Fiction
Electronic books.
War stories.
Historical fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Gallery Books2019
2019
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781982112318
9781982112318
Other Classic View