We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The books of the dead

by Bernhard, Emilia,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 4 copies
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Penn Hills Library Mystery BER MYS
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  BER MYS
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Mysteries IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Mysteries
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Mysteries IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Mysteries IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Mysteries
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Mysteries IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - West End Mysteries IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary
The second book in Emilia Bernhard's charming Death in Paris series, featuring two American sleuths in the City of Lights, is perfect for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

Parisian summers are for strolls in the park . . . and solving a murder--or two.

When American sleuth Rachel Levis stumbles upon an employee of the French national library strangled in the bathroom of a cafe, she's not surprised to be asked to help with the investigation by her old acquaintance Capitaine Boussicault--after all, she and her best friend Magda solved a tricky murder only eighteen months before.

But right from the start, this case proves to be très difficile . When Rachel goes undercover as a librarian to determine which of his book-loving colleagues loathed the man enough to kill him, the library is rocked by more bad news: a priceless antique book has been mutilated. And the very next day, her favorite suspect for the murder is found dead in the stacks.

Just as the case is heating up, Boussicault pulls Rachel from the investigation. Undeterred, she and Magda decide to forge ahead with their own investigation--even if it could put them at odds with the police and in serious danger. With evidence and suspects piling up, it will be up to them to find the culprit--and stop more innocent books from being harmed--before anyone else checks out for good.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Curiosity about a condom machine causes amateur sleuth Rachel Levis to enter the men's room in a Paris café and come upon a man's body in a toilet stall. Guy Laurent, the victim, was a librarian in the Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room of the Bibliothèque Nationale. Rachel who, with best friend and fellow sleuth Magda Stevens, previously solved a murder is happy to agree to police captain Boussicault's request that she volunteer at the library to learn what she can about the victim's colleagues. She quickly realizes that Laurent was universally loathed by those with whom he worked. While Magda tends to her online business, Rachel becomes immersed in what she thinks of as her murder. When a second murder takes place, these two American sleuths in Paris take actions that result in their being pulled off the police case and undertaking their own investigation. This charming follow-up to Bernhard's debut, Death in Paris (2018), leaves Rachel and Magda debating whose name will come first in their pending business, for which they have their motto: ""We are shameless in the service of detection.""--Michele Leber Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "On a hot summer afternoon, witty and erudite poet--cum--banker's wife Rachel Levis, the heroine of Bernhard's spirited sequel to 2018's Death in Paris, stops at a Paris bar looking for a refreshing spritz. Instead, she finds a body in the restroom. This leaves her with the perplexing problem of whom to call first: her husband, best friend, or "Capitaine Boussicault, the policeman she knew from the last time she'd encountered a murder." The victim turns out to be a much-despised librarian in the rare books and manuscripts reading room of the Bibliothèque Nationale. Boussicault asks Rachel to go undercover at the library in order to find potential suspects and motives. She soon stumbles on another series of crimes, involving the theft of illustrations from antiquarian publications. Are the murder and the thefts connected, and if so, how? Bernhard keeps the reader guessing right up to the surprising finale. This mystery has it all: authentic Parisian local color, fully realized characters, amusing dialogue, and a satisfyingly complex plot. Agent: Laura MacDougall, United Agents (U.K.). (Oct.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series A Death in Paris mystery ; book 2
Subjects Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Undercover operations -- Fiction.
Paris (France) -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 309 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 308-309).
ISBN 9781643851570
1643851578
Other Classic View