We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Lalani of the distant sea

by Kelly, Erin Entrada,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 22 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Juvenile Fiction J KEL
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J KEL
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv KELLY Erin
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv KELLY Erin
 
 
Brentwood Library New Juvenile JUV Kelly
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Call Number  JUV Kelly
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Childrens j FIC KEL
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Childrens
 
Call Number  j FIC KEL
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC KEL
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC KEL
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC KEL
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC KEL
 
 
 
Unavailable (16)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Juvenile New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library - Forest Hills Juvenile New Book ON HOLDSHELF
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library - Forest Hills
 
Collection  Juvenile New Book
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Children Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's CHECKED OUT
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Scott Township Library New Material CHECKED OUT
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  New Material
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (17)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Allegheny Regional Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Beechview Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Brookline Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Carrick Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Hill District Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Homewood Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - South Side Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - West End Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

"Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read."--Kirkus (starred review)

"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder."--Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney's Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task--she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest--how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk's Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "On the island of Sanlagita, the strongest men have always sailed north in search of fabled Mount Isa. It is said that there are riches at Isa's peak, chief among them a yellow flower that can cure disease. All her life, 12-year-old Lalani has watched the sailors leave including her own father only for them never to return. When Sanlagita is beset by calamities first a drought, then torrential rains, and finally illness befalling Lalani's mother Lalani finds inspiration in the tales of Ziva, the precocious girl who long ago dared to stow away on a ship bound for Isa. Stealing a boat, Lalani sets sail hoping against hope that the smallest and least imposing of Sanlagita's sailors can be the greatest of all. Inspired by Filipino folklore, Newbery Award winner Kelly has woven her narrative with a mythology that is rich and delicious; it is also one fraught with peril. As Lalani journeys closer to Isa, she encounters the lethal flora and fauna that have bested the sailors who came before her. In true storytelling fashion, each of these creatures is given its own story and history, bringing the entire tale to life. By the end, readers will be cheering for Lalani in her unlikely quest to save her family and friends, using only the power of her wits, courage, and empathy.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Kelly's first novel since her best-selling, Newbery Award-winning Hello, Universe (2017) will make quite a splash with her many fans and possibly hook devotees of Disney's Moana.--Reinhardt Suarez Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "A fantasy inspired by Filipino folklore, this vibrant story by Newbery Medalist Entrada (Hello, Universe) follows Lalani Sarita, 12, on her harrowing quest to save her mother and her island, Sanlagita, from the horrible fates for which they seem destined. When Lalani's father perished after being selected to sail to Mount Isa, "where all of life's good fortunes were said to be," Lalani and her mother were forced to live with her frightening uncle and his cruel son. Now, with her mother ill and her island suffering from a drought that has killed off medicinal plants, Lalani faces an impossible quest: sailing across the sea that has taken the lives of countless men, including her father, in search of something that might heal her mother and reveal what's really beyond their small island home. Entrada intersperses second-person narratives that describe the mountain's many fantastical creatures ("Imagine you are a weeping loset"), weaving adventure and magic into the story. Unlikely but determined heroine Lalani is lovably loyal, kind-hearted, and optimistic even as she faces unspeakable dangers, and her relentless spirit makes her a worthy protagonist in this triumphant tale about fighting for the people one loves and staying true to oneself. Ages 8-12. Agent: Sara Crowe, Pippin Properties. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Villages -- Juvenile fiction.
Sex role -- Juvenile fiction.
Villages -- Fiction.
Sex role -- Fiction.
Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction.
Fantasy.
Action and adventure fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2019
Edition First edition.
Contributors Cho, Lian, illustrator.
Language English
Description 384 pages : illustrations, map ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062747273
0062747274
Other Classic View