Natalie Tan's book of luck and fortune.

by Lim, Roselle,

Format: Large Print 2019
Availability: On Order 6 copies
On Order (6)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Large Print Books ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Large Print Books
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Large Print Books ON ORDER
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Large Print Stacks ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Large Print Stacks
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Large Print Books ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary

Lush and visual, chock-full of delicious recipes, Roselle Lim's magical debut novel is about food, heritage, and finding family in the most unexpected places.
At the news of her mother's death, Natalie Tan returns home. The two women hadn't spoken since Natalie left in anger seven years ago, when her mother refused to support her chosen career as a chef. Natalie is shocked to discover the vibrant neighborhood of San Francisco's Chinatown that she remembers from her childhood is fading, with businesses failing and families moving out. She's even more surprised to learn she has inherited her grandmother's restaurant.

The neighborhood seer reads the restaurant's fortune in the leaves: Natalie must cook three recipes from her grandmother's cookbook to aid her struggling neighbors before the restaurant will succeed. Unfortunately, Natalie has no desire to help them try to turn things around--she resents the local shopkeepers for leaving her alone to take care of her agoraphobic mother when she was growing up. But with the support of a surprising new friend and a budding romance, Natalie starts to realize that maybe her neighbors really have been there for her all along.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When chef Natalie's mother passes away, she hasn't been back to San Francisco in years, but the responsibility for settling her mother's affairs falls squarely on her shoulders. Natalie wants to thank the neighbors that checked in on her mother, who developed agoraphobia in her later years, and soon discovers that the neighborhood has changed since she's been away. Swaths of Chinatown have fallen into disrepair without a steady stream of foodies and tourists to drive the economy. When Natalie falls into an opportunity to bring some life back to the neighborhood, it promises to be the hardest and most rewarding risk she's ever taken. Infused with the flavors of Chinese cuisine and sprinkled with magic, Lim's debut will be a treat for fans of Mary Simses, Ashton Lee, and Nina George. Her prose is infectious, with a cinematic flair. Readers will fall in love with Natalie, her multifaceted supporting cast, and the sights, sounds, and smells of San Francisco. This bighearted and deeply-felt story stirs together mourning, nostalgia, and the freedom of new possibilities.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lim serves up love, loss, heritage, and hints of the supernatural on a silver platter in this magical and mouthwatering debut. Seven years after aspiring chef Natalie Tan's relationship with her agoraphobic mother ends in a blazing fight, Natalie's mother dies, and Natalie returns to the apartment they shared in San Francisco's Chinatown to plan her mother's funeral. She finds the lively neighborhood where she grew up on the verge of economic collapse and her childhood home full of secrets. Among them is the boarded-up ground-level space they lived above-Natalie's grandmother's famed Chinese restaurant, now her inheritance. Everyone who looks at Natalie sees her mother and grandmother, often before they see Natalie for herself, and she feels haunted by her ancestors' successes as much as by her own failures. When a mystic predicts Natalie's attempts to revive the eatery will succeed only if she uses her grandmother's recipes, Natalie undertakes the mammoth task of resurrecting both her lost culinary dreams and her family legacy, and the neighborhood she abandoned soon feels like the one place she's meant to be. This eminently filmable tale of finding one's own path while honoring one's history is delicious and spellbinding. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects ordreq 09/03/19 xa
Publisher 20192019
Edition Large print edition.
Description p. (large print) cm.
ISBN 9781432870355
Other Classic View