We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Natalie Tan's book of luck and fortune

by Lim, Roselle,

Format: Large Print 2019
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 7 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - East Liberty Large Print Books FICTION Lim
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Lim
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Large Print Stacks FICTION Lim
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Large Print Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Lim
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books FICTION Lim
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Lim
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Large Print Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Large Print Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Large Print CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Natalie Tan returns home after her mother's death to find that the neighborhood of San Francisco's Chinatown that she remembers from her childhood is fading, with businesses failing and families moving out. She's even more surprised to learn she has inherited her grandmother's restaurant. But Natalie has no desire to help try to turn things around in the community -- she resents the local shopkeepers for leaving her alone to take care of her mother when she was growing up. But with the support of a new friend and a budding romance, Natalie starts to realize that maybe her neighbors really have been there for her all along.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When chef Natalie's mother passes away, she hasn't been back to San Francisco in years, but the responsibility for settling her mother's affairs falls squarely on her shoulders. Natalie wants to thank the neighbors that checked in on her mother, who developed agoraphobia in her later years, and soon discovers that the neighborhood has changed since she's been away. Swaths of Chinatown have fallen into disrepair without a steady stream of foodies and tourists to drive the economy. When Natalie falls into an opportunity to bring some life back to the neighborhood, it promises to be the hardest and most rewarding risk she's ever taken. Infused with the flavors of Chinese cuisine and sprinkled with magic, Lim's debut will be a treat for fans of Mary Simses, Ashton Lee, and Nina George. Her prose is infectious, with a cinematic flair. Readers will fall in love with Natalie, her multifaceted supporting cast, and the sights, sounds, and smells of San Francisco. This bighearted and deeply-felt story stirs together mourning, nostalgia, and the freedom of new possibilities.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lim serves up love, loss, heritage, and hints of the supernatural on a silver platter in this magical and mouthwatering debut. Seven years after aspiring chef Natalie Tan's relationship with her agoraphobic mother ends in a blazing fight, Natalie's mother dies, and Natalie returns to the apartment they shared in San Francisco's Chinatown to plan her mother's funeral. She finds the lively neighborhood where she grew up on the verge of economic collapse and her childhood home full of secrets. Among them is the boarded-up ground-level space they lived above-Natalie's grandmother's famed Chinese restaurant, now her inheritance. Everyone who looks at Natalie sees her mother and grandmother, often before they see Natalie for herself, and she feels haunted by her ancestors' successes as much as by her own failures. When a mystic predicts Natalie's attempts to revive the eatery will succeed only if she uses her grandmother's recipes, Natalie undertakes the mammoth task of resurrecting both her lost culinary dreams and her family legacy, and the neighborhood she abandoned soon feels like the one place she's meant to be. This eminently filmable tale of finding one's own path while honoring one's history is delicious and spellbinding. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Chinese Americans -- Fiction.
Families -- Fiction.
Neighbors -- Fiction.
Cooking, Chinese -- Fiction.
Inheritance and succession -- United States -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Chinatown (San Francisco, Calif.) -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher Farmington Hills, Mich :2019
Edition Large print edition.
Language English
Notes "Thorndike Press large print basic"--Title page verso.
Description 439 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
ISBN 9781432870355
1432870351
Other Classic View