The bone houses

by Lloyd-Jones, Emily,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 16 Libraries 16 of 17 copies
Available (16)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Young Adult YA FIC LLOYD
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC LLOYD
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA LLOYD-JONES Emily
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA LLOYD-JONES Emily
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Lloyd-Jones
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Lloyd-Jones
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC LLO
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC LLO
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Lloyd-Jones
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Lloyd-Jones
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Teen Fiction YA FIC Lloy
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC Lloy
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Young Adult Fiction YA LLO
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LLO
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J LLOYD-JONES
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J LLOYD-JONES
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F LLOYD Emily
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F LLOYD Emily
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC LLOYD
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC LLOYD
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC LLOYD-JONES
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC LLOYD-JONES
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Young Adult Fiction YA LLO
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LLO
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction FIC LLOYD BONE [YA]
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC LLOYD BONE [YA]
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA LLO
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LLO
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA LLOYD-JONES
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LLOYD-JONES
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF LLOYD-JONES
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF LLOYD-JONES
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.
Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.
The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?
Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairy tale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.
An instant IndieBound bestseller!
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Ryn, 17, is more comfortable with the dead than most. She's the gravedigger for the tiny mountainside village where she and her two siblings, long orphaned, eke out a living as times grow ever harder. It's because of her proximity to death that Ryn is one of the few villagers who believes in the old legends of the bone houses corpses who rise at dusk in the nearby forest, given life by an old curse. In fact, she more than believes it: she's seen and fought the bone houses herself. When a mapmaker named Ellis, haunted by his own elusive past, appears in her village determined to map the mountain, the dead rise at an alarming rate, and Ryn joins him on a quest that sends them both into a dangerous world filled with ancient magic. With ghostly prose, Lloyd-Jones (The Hearts We Sold, 2017) follows Ryn and Ellis' journey while periodically dipping into the local lore that explains how their world has become what it is. While characterization is strong and Ryn and Ellis' trek through the mountains is filled with breathless moments and occasional humor (the latter due mostly to an undead goat), this is, in its strongest moments, a fable about death and the ways in which we live alongside it. This melancholic horror novel digs its way into the heart.--Maggie Reagan Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "With her mother dead and her father missing, Aderyn, 17, has become a gravedigger for the town of Colbren, which borders on a forest where the dead walk at night. When Ellis, 18, arrives in Colbren seeking to map the nearby mountains, Aderyn takes a job as his guide to help repay urgent family debts. Then the dead attack the town, and Aderyn and Ellis head into the forest accompanied by an undead goat in hopes of finding Annwvyn, once home to the legendary Otherking, and thereby ending the threat of the dead at its source--"the cauldron of rebirth." Lloyd-Jones (The Hearts We Sold) creates an evocative world of magic and haunted forests rooted in Welsh folklore. Although some plot twists are overtly telegraphed, she skillfully builds tension and plays with the conventions of fairy tales and horror, adeptly leading to a rewarding conclusion. The appealing main characters are notable for their persistence--Aderyn through ever-mounting obstacles, and Ellis through his chronic pain. The story serves as a meditation on the complicated relationship between the living and the dead, combining fear, humor and enchantment in equal measure, and alloying them with humor. Ages 12--up. (Sept.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Dead -- Fiction.
Gravediggers -- Fiction.
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Blessing and cursing -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Horror fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 338 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780316418416
0316418412
Other Classic View