The silence between us

by Gervais, Alison,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 9 Libraries 9 of 11 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
Avalon Public Library Teen TEEN FIC GER
Location  Avalon Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC GER
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA GERVAIS Alison
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA GERVAIS Alison
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Gervais
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Gervais
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Gervais
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Gervais
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Gervais
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Gervais
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Young Adult Fiction YA GER
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GER
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA GER
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GER
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA NEW GERVAIS
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA NEW GERVAIS
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Teen Fiction TEEN GERVAIS
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN GERVAIS
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

"This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central)

#OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

"It's time we see more Deaf characters in books. It's time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating--and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life--Deaf and hearing alike--ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Maya Harris, high-school senior, is changing schools; this would be hard enough on anyone, but this is also the first time in years that Maya won't be at a school for the Deaf. Embarrassed to need an ASL translator and furious that her classmates are gossiping about her, Maya just wants to graduate and become a doctor. When, to her surprise, hearing class president Beau tries to learn ASL to communicate with her, Maya begrudgingly becomes friends with him, then starts to fall for him but is a relationship with someone who will never fully understand her Deafness even possible? Though the book begins slowly, it soon picks up and doesn't slow again. Maya's spunk and independent streak will appeal to readers, and Gervais fills her story with endearing supporting characters. The romance, while sweet, often takes a back seat to let Maya's ambition and experience of Deafness shine. Gervais deftly renders both the nuanced, everyday realities of life with disability and Maya's fierce pride in her Deafness, delivering a vibrant story that will resonate with Deaf and hearing audiences alike.--Monica Brown Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Gervais (In 27 Days) uses her own experiences of hearing loss to lend authenticity to this novel about a teenage deaf girl starting over at a new school. Straight-forward Maya Harris, 17, was born with hearing but became deaf after an unexpected illness. Following her family's relocation from New Jersey--and the school for the deaf where she was comfortable--to Colorado, Maya must attend a hearing school and worries that she'll struggle to succeed and fit in ("It was not as if I publicly announced I was Deaf--my interpreter and the signing and my hearing aids kind of made that obvious"). New friends smooth the way: mentor Nina Torres is helpful, and overachieving good-guy Beau Watson attempts to learn ASL. But a lack of university interpreters jeopardizes Maya's dream to attend college and then work in the medical field, and tension over cochlear implants develops in her budding relationship with Beau. Maya at times comes off as more self-involved than self-assured, but Gervais adroitly pulls readers into her world--conveying ASL through all caps and spelled-out words--as well as her work navigating the deaf and hearing worlds and her awareness of who she is. Ages 13--up. (Aug.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Deaf -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
High schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction.
Cochlear implants -- Fiction.
Colorado -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher Grand Rapids, Michigan :2019
Audience Ages 13+.
Language English
Notes Includes an interview with the author; and a preview of: In 27 days.
Awards Schneider Family Book Award, Teen Honor, 2020.
Description 317 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780310766162
0310766168
Other Classic View