We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The winemaker's wife

by Harmel, Kristin,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 21 copies
3 people on waitlist
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional New Books FICTION Harmel
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Harmel
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection FICTION Harmel
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Harmel
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC HARMEL
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HARMEL
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book F HAR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  F HAR
 
 
 
Unavailable (17)
Location Collection Status
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Brentwood Library New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Carrick New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Hampton Community Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
South Park Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Historical CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Historical
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star

"Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past...fantastic!" --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

The author of the "engrossing" ( People ) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale .

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance . Inès fears they'll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau's chef de cave , the risk is even greater--rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love--and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive--and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The lives of several strong women intervene in a complicated historical tale of love and war. Set in France's historic champagne vineyards, The Winemaker's Wife begins with rising anxiety about the Nazi's arrival to Maison Chauveau in 1940. Inès Chauveau and her husband/vineyard owner Michael work alongside Theo Laurent, Maison Chauveau's chef de cave or cellar master and his wife Céline. Céline, considered a Jew based on her father's family even though her mother was Catholic, fears the arrival of Germans the most. The story then jumps to the present day with Liv Kent's divorce and the unexpected appearance of her grandmother Edith who whisks her away to Paris. Edith becomes elusive about their purpose in Europe and Liv is introduced to a dashing young lawyer handling her grandmother's affairs. Shifting years and perspectives, lives intersect as Liv, Céline, and Inès cope with fast changes and romantic mistakes. This WW2 novel takes a unique approach with details of the winemaking process highlighting the author's research into the Champagne region.--Monica Garza Bustillo Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects World War, 1939-1945 -- France -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Wineries -- Fiction.
France -- Fiction.
War fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 389 pages ; 24 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references.
ISBN 9781982112295
1982112298
9781982112301
1982112301
Other Classic View