The doll factory : a novel

by Macneal, Elizabeth, 1988-

Format: Print Book [2019]
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 10 copies
43 people on waitlist
Unavailable (10)
Location Collection Status
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library New Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Hampton Community Library New Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Monroeville Public Library New Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Thriller ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Thriller
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Whitehall Public Library New Book Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  New Book Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (7)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Brentwood Library New Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Horror ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Horror
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
South Park Library New Books IN PROCESSING
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary
The #1 International Bestseller

New York Times Editor's Choice

"A lush, evocative Gothic." -- The New York Times Book Review

" This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers." -- Booklist , starred review

Obsession is an art.

In this "sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession" (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train ), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man's dark obsession may destroy her world forever.

In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and, among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams--but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.

"A page-turning psychological thriller" (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist ) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist , Drood , and The Historian .
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In London, 1850, porcelain-doll painter Iris' family disowns her for leaving the oppressive but respectable doll shop to become an artist's model. Her coworker and twin sister, Rose, deformed in her teens by smallpox, feels especially betrayed. Meanwhile, taxidermist and curiosity-shop owner Silas nurses an obsession for Iris and her own deformity, a bent collarbone. In the build-up to and shadow of the 1851 Great Exhibition and Royal Academy show, love grows between Iris and Pre-Raphaelite painter Louis; Iris tastes true freedom and determinedly pursues her own painting; and Silas finalizes plans for capturing his most prized specimen. Talented debut novelist Macneal drops readers right into a Victorian London that's home to stinking squalor and chaos, but also significant beauty and possibility. Midway through, readers won't know if they're holding a romance, tragedy, or murder mystery, but won't pause long enough to wonder about it as Iris rails against the limitations of her gender and social status, and Silas' creepiness comes into sharp focus. (There's also a marriage scandal, and a gold-hearted street urchin.) This terrifically exciting, chiaroscuro novel became an instant bestseller in England, with TV rights already sold, and will jolt, thrill, and bewitch U.S. readers, too.--Annie Bostrom Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Siddall, Elizabeth -- Fiction.
Kidnapping victims -- England -- Fiction.
Obsessive-compulsive disorder -- Fiction.
Pre-Raphaelites -- England -- London -- Fiction.
Artists' models -- Fiction.
Painters -- England -- Fiction.
London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Great Britain -- History -- Victoria, 1837-1901 -- Fiction.
London (England) -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York :[2019]
Edition First Emily Bestler books/Atria books hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 362 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781982106768
198210676X
9781982106775
1982106778
9781982111939
1982111933
Other Classic View