Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

I'm not dying with you tonight

by Jones, Kimberly

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 10 Libraries 10 of 12 copies
Available (10)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult YA JON
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA JON
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA JONES Kimberly
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA JONES Kimberly
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC JON
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC JON
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Jones
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Jones
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Jones
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Jones
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Jones
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Jones
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Jones
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Jones
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books YA JONES Kimberly
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Call Number  YA JONES Kimberly
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen TEEN FIC JONES
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC JONES
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF JONES
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF JONES
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Brentwood Library New Young Adult IN PROCESSING
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Young Adult
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

"An absolute page turner,I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " --Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I'm Not Dying with You Tonightfollows two teen girls--one black, one white--who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she's going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren't friends. They hardly understand the other's point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they're going to survive the night.

This book is perfect for:

Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension thatexists in America Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds

Additional Praise for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight:
"A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." --Nic Stone,New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." --Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

"I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jonesand Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." --David Arnold,New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitolandand Kids of Appetite

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Lena is sassy and fashionable, and she dreams of fame. Campbell is quiet and reserved, and she just wants to survive the year at her new school. These two high-school girls one black and one white find themselves caught in the middle of chaos at a Friday night football game. Despite being strangers, they must rely on each other in order to escape the frightful scene. On their journey towards safety, they encounter several dangerous situations, such as riots, fights, and looting, which force them to learn about and appreciate each other. In their first collaboration, authors Segal and Jones have produced a novel that addresses the racial tension in our nation, including current issues such as police brutality. This is a book that is sure to make young readers think, highlighting the importance of understanding different perspectives as its chapters alternate between Lena's and Campbell's points of view. An eye-opening read that will be useful for starting conversations in group settings.--Savannah Patterson Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Debut authors Segal and Jones deliver split points of view in this drama that follows two teens: Lena, who is black, and Campbell, who is white and new to Lena's school. After a racially charged fight breaks out during a football game, school resource officers become involved, gunshots crack the tentative hold preventing an all-out riot, and the night erupts. Lena, unable to get a ride away from the madness, teams up with Campbell to make their way home, where Lena's boyfriend is working on his album. Along the way, protests draw white supremacists, who run over a black woman, setting off more violence. Though Lena and Campbell's stories seek to tell the gripping perspectives of two girls from different backgrounds, the characters lack dimension. Unfortunately, the novel stops just short of wrapping up Lena's story, leaving Campbell with a more full character arc, while Lena, problematically, feels more like a mouthpiece for a stereotypical black experience. Nonetheless, the novel's timely, accessible look at urgent issues of racial justice will likely draw interest. Ages 14--17. Agent: Tracey Adams, Adams Literary. (Aug.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Race relations -- Fiction.
Riots -- Fiction.
African Americans -- Fiction.
High school students -- Fiction.
Atlanta (Ga.) -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher Naperville, IL :2019
Other Titles I am not dying with you tonight
Contributors Segal, Gilly, author.
Language English
Description 247 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781492678892
1492678899
9781728211343
1728211344
Other Classic View