We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The lager queen of Minnesota

by Stradal, J. Ryan,

Format: Book on CD 2019
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 10 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Downtown and Business Lower Level - Books on CD CD Stradal
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  Lower Level - Books on CD
 
Call Number  CD Stradal
 
 
CLP - East Liberty AV CD Stradal
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  AV
 
Call Number  CD Stradal
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Open Stacks CD Stradal
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Open Stacks
 
Call Number  CD Stradal
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Audiovisual Collection CD Stradal
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Call Number  CD Stradal
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Audio Visual CD BOOK FIC STR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Audio Visual
 
Call Number  CD BOOK FIC STR
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Audio CD STRADAL J Unabridged
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Call Number  CD STRADAL J Unabridged
 
 
Robinson Library Audio Book CD FIC STRADAL
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Audio Book
 
Call Number  CD FIC STRADAL
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection ABOCD Stradal
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Call Number  ABOCD Stradal
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Audiovisual CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Audio IN PROCESSING
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary
A National Bestseller

" The perfect pick-me-up on a hot summer day. "
--Washington Post

" A] charmer of a tale. . . Warm, witty and--like any good craft beer--complex, the saga delivers a subtly feminist and wholly life-affirming message."
--People Magazine

A novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

Two sisters, one farm. A family is split when their father leaves their shared inheritance entirely to Helen, his younger daughter. Despite baking award-winning pies at the local nursing home, her older sister, Edith, struggles to make what most people would call a living. So she can't help wondering what her life would have been like with even a portion of the farm money her sister kept for herself.

With the proceeds from the farm, Helen builds one of the most successful light breweries in the country, and makes their company motto ubiquitous: "Drink lots. It's Blotz." Where Edith has a heart as big as Minnesota, Helen's is as rigid as a steel keg. Yet one day, Helen will find she needs some help herself, and she could find a potential savior close to home. . . if it's not too late.

Meanwhile, Edith's granddaughter, Diana, grows up knowing that the real world requires a tougher constitution than her grandmother possesses. She earns a shot at learning the IPA business from the ground up--will that change their fortunes forever, and perhaps reunite her splintered family?

Here we meet a cast of lovable, funny, quintessentially American characters eager to make their mark in a world that's often stacked against them. In this deeply affecting family saga, resolution can take generations, but when it finally comes, we're surprised, moved, and delighted.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Edith Magnusson never thought she'd be figuring out how to translate the flavors of her award-winning pies into beer, but she's had plenty of practice being adaptable. Ever since her father left the family farm to her sister, Helen, Edith has learned to make do on her own. She and her husband raised their children comfortably, but not extravagantly, and no job was ever too small for Edith. When her granddaughter, Diana, turns a severance package into ownership of a fledgling craft brewery, she's surprised to find that brewing is in the family bloodline. A chance to mend decades-old resentment resurfaces, and Edith, Helen, and Diana have to decide how to best navigate the tricky waters of reconciliation. A love story to Minnesota, craft beer, and the power of second chances, Stradal's (Kitchens of the Great Midwest, 2015) second novel goes down easy. Perspective shifts among Helen, Edith, and Diana, letting each woman speak for herself and allowing their narratives to build off one another, despite the non-linear timeline. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a can-do attitude, this warm, witty novel will appeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Stradal follows up Kitchens of the Great Midwest with a refreshing story about women who know how to take charge in a family that becomes involved in the brewing industry. Edith and her sister, Helen, are young Minnesotans in the 1950s, and though the unassuming Edith gains temporary fame for her scrumptious pies, Helen becomes obsessed with making beer after her very first sip. Both women marry, and while Edith and Stanley Magnusson struggle to make ends meet, Helen manipulates her ailing, beer-loving father by selling him on her capacity to make a beer of her own. After he dies, she takes Edith's inheritance along with her own. Helen's husband, Orval Blotz, is heir to his family's failing brewing empire, and while Helen uses her inheritance and persistence to bring Blotz Beer back to popularity, Edith has difficulty forgiving Helen for her betrayal. The sisters lose track of one another for decades, but Edith's teenage granddaughter, Diana, is drawn, seemingly by fate, into the brewing business. This is not a story of drinkers and drinking, but is rather a testament to the setbacks and achievements that come with following one's passion. This story about how a family business succeeds with generations of strong and determined women at the helm makes for a sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always winning novel. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Sisters -- Fiction.
Women brewers -- Fiction.
Families -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher New York, NY :2019
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Ivey, Judith, 1951- narrator.
Penguin Audio (Firm), publisher.
Books on Tape, Inc., publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by Judith Ivey.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Title from disc label.
Description 9 audio discs (11 hr.) ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781524777678
1524777692
Other Classic View