A dog named Beautiful

by Kugler, Rob,

Format: Book on CD 2019
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Shaler North Hills Library Audiovisual CD 359.96 K [B-O-CD]
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Call Number  CD 359.96 K [B-O-CD]
 
 
Summary

"This sweet story honoring the bond between animals and their people is a must-read for fans of A Dog Called Hope and Travels with Charley , and anyone open to a good, cathartic cry." -- Booklist, Starred Review

This program is read by the author.

An uplifting and unforgettable story of a US Marine, his extraordinary dog, and the road trip of a lifetime.

When US Marine Rob Kugler returns from war he had given up not only a year of his life in service to his country, but he had also lost a brother in the fighting as well. Lost in grief, Rob finds solace and relief in the one thing that never fails to put a smile on his face: his chocolate lab Bella. Exceptionally friendly, and always with - you wouldn't believe it - a smile on her face, Bella is the friend Rob needs, and they spend their days exploring nature and taking photos.

But then Bella develops a limp in her front leg. It's cancer, and the prognosis isn't good. Rob has a choice, either to let Bella go now, or amputate her cancer riddled leg, and see what the next few months would bring.

For Rob, the choice is a no-brainer, and instead of waiting at home for the cancer to spread, Rob and Bella pack their bags and hit the road. Life is short, but the road ahead is long and winding, and as they criss-cross the country Rob and Bella meet remarkable, life-changing men and women who are quick to make friends with this incredible three-legged dog. A Dog Named Beautiful is an audiobook full of inspiration, hope, love, tears, and laughs. Enjoy the journey.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Kugler was the youngest of a blended family with six step-siblings. When his parents divorced, his mother retained custody and Kugler found a father figure in his older brother, Mike. Mike encouraged Kugler to follow his footsteps and join the marines for a better future. Before deployment to Iraq, Kugler and his then-girlfriend, Charli, adopted a chocolate Lab puppy they named Bella. Bella became Rob's best friend, his traveling companion, his inspiration, his healer, his everything. Twelve years later, learning that Bella had terminal bone cancer, Rob knew they had to share one final, epic road trip. Traveling cross-country, the pair met with marine buddies, participated in veteran-support-group events, and learned to appreciate living in the moment. The author expertly balances his personal journey through past trauma and to finding inner peace with Bella at his side with inspirational insights all readers can appreciate. Kugler's interactions with other veterans throughout his journey feel like a tribute to our armed forces. This sweet story honoring the bond between animals and their people is a must-read for fans of A Dog Called Hope (2017) and Travels with Charley (1962), and anyone open to a good, cathartic cry.--Stacey Hayman Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this emotionally wrought memoir, marine veteran Kugler writes of his eight-year-old chocolate Lab Bella, who was diagnosed with bone cancer and and helped Kugler through a difficult time in his life. After a deployment to Iraq in 2008, Kugler was forced to retire for medical reasons. Back home in Broken Bow, Nebr., he battled depression and contemplated suicide, yet Bella was his rock: "She is my one constant. She loves me unconditionally." After Bella was diagnosed with cancer in 2015 and had her left front leg amputated, the two set out on a trek across America. "She's helping me find something I so desperately need," Kugler writes. Through flashbacks, Kugler recounts a poor but loving childhood, and stories of his brother, Mike, who was killed while they were both serving in Iraq. As Kugler and Bella travel, Bella's unassailable enthusiasm inspires Kugler to cope with his depression while she instills passion in those they meet. "She's spreading happiness and inspiration.... This dog with three legs and terminal cancer still loves life," he writes. Bella lives months beyond what doctors thought ("These adventures are keeping her alive," says her vet), and it is through Bella that Kugler meets a woman and forms a relationship that lasts after Bella's death. Kugler's heartfelt and uplifting story reveals the transformative power pets can have. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Kugler, Rob -- Travel -- United States.
United States. -- Marine Corps -- Biography.
Marines -- United States -- Biography.
Veterans -- United States -- Biography.
Dogs with disabilities -- United States -- Biography.
Pets and travel -- United States -- Anecdotes.
Labrador retriever -- Biography.
Dog owners -- United States -- Biography.
Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Veterans -- United States -- Biography.
War casualties -- United States -- Family -- Biography.
Human-animal relationships -- United States.
Anecdotes.
Travel writing.
Autobiographies.
Audiobooks.
Publisher New York, NY :Macmillan Audio,2019
Edition Unabridged.
Other Titles Dog named Beautiful :
Contributors Macmillan Audio (Firm), publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by the author.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Title from disc label.
Description 7 audio discs (approximately 8 hr., 37 min.) ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781250239853
1250239850
Other Classic View