Solving for m

by Swender, Jennifer,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 5 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Juvenile Fiction J SWE
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J SWE
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J SWENDER
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J SWENDER
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Juvenile Fiction J SWE REALISTIC FICTION
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J SWE REALISTIC FICTION
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juv Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juv Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish, this heartfelt middle-grade novel seamlessly melds STEAM content with first loss in an honest and striking debut.

When Mika starts fifth grade at the middle school, her neat life gets messy. Separated from old friends and starting new classes, Mika is far from her comfort zone. And math class is the most confusing of all, especially when her teacher Mr. Vann assigns math journals. Art in math? Who's ever heard of such a thing?

But when challenges arise at home, Mika realizes there are no easy answers. Maybe, with some help from friends, family, and one unique teacher, a math journal can help her work out problems, and not just the math ones.

Debut author Jennifer Swender delivers poignant prose and illustrator Jennifer Naalchigar brings Mika's journal to life in this perfect equation of honesty plus hope that adds up to a heartwarming coming-of-age story.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "An artistic girl uses her math journal to come to terms with her mother's illness in this character-driven middle-grade novel. Mika isn't so sure about middle school. She is in a different pod than her former best friend, and her eccentric math teacher makes his students keep journals, where they draw creative solutions to show their thought processes instead of simply answering problems. When Mika's mom is diagnosed with melanoma, math class becomes Mika's refuge. She finds new best friends in her classmates (science-loving Dee Dee and kind Chelsea) and uses her math journal to work through her anxieties about her mom's illness, medications, and uncertain recovery. Swender fills Mika's journey with quiet hope and gradual adjustments. Mika's math-journal entries, featuring playful, doodle-like figures and words in childlike handwriting, liven up the story and provide insight into Mika's internal life. There are also plenty of supportive women characters who help Mika carry on, such as her grandmother, her dad's new wife, and her mom's best friend. A quiet but creative story about accepting change and uncertainty.--Mariko Turk Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Debut author Swender cleverly tells the story of shy artist Mika Barnes by interspersing entries of an illustrated math journal throughout her first-person narrative. Mika lives with her mother in New York's Hudson Valley and rarely sees her father and his new wife, who live in Florida. Mika's first year as a fifth grader at Highbridge Middle School promises to be challenging: she's in a different pod than her best friend, and her math teacher, Mr. Vann, teaches in a wholly unconventional way-using a math journal to "embark on reflective discussions of relevant math issues." When she finds out that her mom has melanoma, it's Mr. Vann and his journal prompts, along with two new unlikely friends at school, that help her cope. Mika's journal entries prove both amusing and touching as she expresses her uncertainty and fear through numbers and drawings, and Swender nicely captures the mind-set of a child struggling to understand a parent's illness. Though Mika seems more like a bystander watching things unfold than a protagonist evolving over time, the unusual format and the author's realistic portrayal of a girl navigating social and familial issues make this a worthy read. Ages 8-12. Author's agent: Jennifer Weltz, Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Cancer -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Juvenile fiction.
Mathematics -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Publisher New York :Crown Books for Young Readers,2019
Edition First edition.
Contributors Naalchigar, Jennifer, illustrator.
Language English
Description 239 pages : illustrations ; 19 cm
ISBN 9781101932902
1101932902
9781101932919
1101932910
9781101932933
1101932937
Other Classic View