Library Catalog may be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Monday 7/15 between 10 PM and 2 AM.

Pie in the Sky

by Lai, Remy,

Format: Print Book 2019.
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 13 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Brentwood Library New Juvenile JUV Lai
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Call Number  JUV Lai
 
 
South Park Library Juvenile New Books jF LAI
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Juvenile New Books
 
Call Number  jF LAI
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG LAI
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG LAI
 
 
 
Unavailable (9)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Carnegie Free Library New Juvenile CHECKED OUT
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's CHECKED OUT
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Paperbacks CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!

"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk , and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection!

"Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." -- School Library Journal , starred review

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." -- Shelf Awareness , starred review

This title has common core connections.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "A boy struggles to come to terms with his father's death and his new life after immigrating to Australia in this character-driven novel. Back home, Jingwen's family ran a cake shop. In Australia, Jingwen struggles to understand his classmates and teachers. Worse, his annoying little brother, Yanghao, seems to be learning English and making friends with no trouble at all. Jingwen's refuge becomes secretly baking, with help from Yanghao, all the cakes his father planned to sell in his new bakery. Jingwen thinks if he can bake all of them, maybe he will be forgiven for not always appreciating his father. Maybe everything will be OK again. Jingwen's slow journey through grief and displacement is heartbreaking but ultimately hopeful. Lai's cartoon illustrations depict Jingwen's sense of alienation (at times, Jingwen is drawn as an alien, a ghost, and a robot) with care and sensitivity. Comics interludes, complete with speech balloons, enliven the story. Even though Jingwen deals with heavy burdens, his story also contains plenty of humor. An emotional tale about loss and letting go, pleasantly buoyed by comedy and cake baking.--Mariko Turk Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lai centers her incisive illustrated novel debut on Jingwen, who moves from his unspecified home country to Australia with his mother and younger brother Yanghao after his father's death. The boy mourns the loss of his father and feels like an alien among his fifth-grade classmates as he struggles to learn English, which sounds like "Martian words" (blue-tinged illustrations show others, then the boys, as space aliens in their daily life). Summoning memories of baking with Papa, Jingwen imagines the cakes they'd anticipated selling at Pie in the Sky, the bakery they planned to open upon moving. Jingwen vows to make the 12 cakes, believing this will preserve his memories of Papa-and that "cakes make everything better." But his baking obsession leads to the betrayal of his hardworking mother's trust, landing him and Yanghao in hot water. Though repetition of facts and dialogue (including the brothers' penchant for calling each another "Booger") at times thwarts the narrative flow, its pace accelerates in the final chapters as Lai adds a few surprise ingredients to concoct a deeply satisfying ending for this heartwarming immigrant story about sibling bonds, honesty, and surmounting obstacles. Ages 8-12. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Immigrants -- Juvenile fiction.
Language and languages -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Belonging (Social psychology) -- Juvenile fiction.
Cake -- Juvenile fiction.
Baking -- Juvenile fiction.
Single-parent families -- Juvenile fiction.
Humorous stories.
Immigrants -- Fiction.
Language and languages -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Belonging (Social psychology) -- Fiction.
Cakes -- Fiction.
Baking -- Fiction.
Single-parent families -- Fiction.
Australia -- Juvenile fiction.
Australia -- Fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York :2019.
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 380 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781250314093
1250314097
9781250314109
1250314100
Other Classic View