Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Pie in the Sky

by Lai, Remy,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 18 Libraries 18 of 30 copies
Available (18)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Children's Fiction Collection J F LAI
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  J F LAI
 
 
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Juvenile Fiction j FIC LAI
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j FIC LAI
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv LAI Remy
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv LAI Remy
 
 
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction JUV Lai
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV Lai
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Childrens' Room j FIC LAI
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Childrens' Room
 
Call Number  j FIC LAI
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Childrens j FIC LAI
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Childrens
 
Call Number  j FIC LAI
 
 
Dormont Public Library Juvenile Fiction J LAI
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J LAI
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF LAI
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF LAI
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Fiction J F LAI
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F LAI
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juv Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juv Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Book Battle 5TH GRADE BOB LAI
NO REQUESTS
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Book Battle
 
Call Number  5TH GRADE BOB LAI
NO REQUESTS
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile Paperback J PAP LAI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Paperback
 
Call Number  J PAP LAI
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Paperbacks P/J LAI
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/J LAI
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
South Park Library Juvenile jF LAI
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  jF LAI
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction JUV LAI
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV LAI
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF Lai
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF Lai
 
 
 
Unavailable (12)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Children's Paperbacks CHECKED OUT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Book Battle CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Book Battle
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Paperback REPAIR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Paperback
 
Status  REPAIR
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade IN TRANSIT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!
An NPR Best Book of the Year!
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!

"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk , and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection!

"Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." -- School Library Journal , starred review

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." -- Shelf Awareness , starred review

This title has common core connections.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "A boy struggles to come to terms with his father's death and his new life after immigrating to Australia in this character-driven novel. Back home, Jingwen's family ran a cake shop. In Australia, Jingwen struggles to understand his classmates and teachers. Worse, his annoying little brother, Yanghao, seems to be learning English and making friends with no trouble at all. Jingwen's refuge becomes secretly baking, with help from Yanghao, all the cakes his father planned to sell in his new bakery. Jingwen thinks if he can bake all of them, maybe he will be forgiven for not always appreciating his father. Maybe everything will be OK again. Jingwen's slow journey through grief and displacement is heartbreaking but ultimately hopeful. Lai's cartoon illustrations depict Jingwen's sense of alienation (at times, Jingwen is drawn as an alien, a ghost, and a robot) with care and sensitivity. Comics interludes, complete with speech balloons, enliven the story. Even though Jingwen deals with heavy burdens, his story also contains plenty of humor. An emotional tale about loss and letting go, pleasantly buoyed by comedy and cake baking.--Mariko Turk Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lai centers her incisive illustrated novel debut on Jingwen, who moves from his unspecified home country to Australia with his mother and younger brother Yanghao after his father's death. The boy mourns the loss of his father and feels like an alien among his fifth-grade classmates as he struggles to learn English, which sounds like "Martian words" (blue-tinged illustrations show others, then the boys, as space aliens in their daily life). Summoning memories of baking with Papa, Jingwen imagines the cakes they'd anticipated selling at Pie in the Sky, the bakery they planned to open upon moving. Jingwen vows to make the 12 cakes, believing this will preserve his memories of Papa-and that "cakes make everything better." But his baking obsession leads to the betrayal of his hardworking mother's trust, landing him and Yanghao in hot water. Though repetition of facts and dialogue (including the brothers' penchant for calling each another "Booger") at times thwarts the narrative flow, its pace accelerates in the final chapters as Lai adds a few surprise ingredients to concoct a deeply satisfying ending for this heartwarming immigrant story about sibling bonds, honesty, and surmounting obstacles. Ages 8-12. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Immigrants -- Juvenile fiction.
Language and languages -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Belonging (Social psychology) -- Juvenile fiction.
Cake -- Juvenile fiction.
Baking -- Juvenile fiction.
Single-parent families -- Juvenile fiction.
Humorous stories.
Immigrants -- Fiction.
Language and languages -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Belonging (Social psychology) -- Fiction.
Cakes -- Fiction.
Baking -- Fiction.
Single-parent families -- Fiction.
Australia -- Juvenile fiction.
Australia -- Fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 380 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781250314093
1250314097
9781250314109
1250314100
Other Classic View